

# Frequently Asked Questions about the COVID-19 Health Mandates

# Health Mandate 10.1 – International and Interstate Travel – Order for Self-Quarantine

Issued March 23. Goes into effect March 25, 2020 at 12:01 a.m. Will be reevaluated by April 21, 2020. Find full text and attachments available at <a href="https://gov.alaska.gov/home/covid19-healthmandates/">https://gov.alaska.gov/home/covid19-healthmandates/</a>

### What does Health Mandate 10.1 mean and what is its purpose?

Health Mandate 10.1 has been implemented to help control the entry into Alaska from areas outside the state to help prevent the spread of COVID-19. All people arriving in Alaska, whether resident, worker or visitor, are **required to self-quarantine for 14 days** and monitor for illness. Arriving residents and workers in self-quarantine should work from home, unless they support critical infrastructure (see Attachment A).

#### What does the mandate say?

"All people arriving in Alaska, whether resident, worker or visitor, are required to self-quarantine for 14 days and monitor for illness. Arriving residents and workers in self-quarantine, should work from home, unless you support critical infrastructure." See Attachment A – Alaska Critical Workforce Infrastructure

#### How will this be tracked?

Travelers arriving in Alaska will fill out a <u>declaration form</u> at the airport or at the Canadian border (for essential travel only), when they arrive and indicate where they will be self-quarantining for 14 days.

### What should a traveler do immediately upon arriving in Alaska?

Anyone arriving in Alaska should go directly from the airport to the designated quarantine location they identified on the mandatory <u>State of Alaska Travel Declaration Form</u>.

### I don't have any symptoms, do I have to self-quarantine?

All people arriving in Alaska, regardless of their perceived health, whether resident, worker or visitor, are required to self-quarantine for 14 days and monitor for illness. Arriving residents and workers in self-quarantine should work from home, unless they support critical infrastructure (see Attachment A). While in quarantine, you should monitor for symptoms according to health guidance from the CDC and the State of Alaska.

### Can I quarantine at home?

Yes, if you are an Alaska resident, your designated quarantine location is your residence.

### What if I'm visiting?

If you are a visitor or worker, your designated quarantine location is your hotel room or rented lodging.

#### How long does this mandate last?

It will be reevaluated on April 21, 2020.

### What happens if someone doesn't follow this mandate?

Failure to follow this order is punishable by a fine of up to \$25,000, or imprisonment of not more than one year, or both pursuant to Alaska Statute 12.55.035 and Alaska Statute 12.55.135.

# If I know a business or individual that isn't following this mandate, who should I report this to?

Violations may be reported to investigations@alaska.gov.

#### How long do I have to stay in quarantine?

You should stay at your designated location for 14 days or until you leave the state, if less than 14 days.

#### If I'm sick, may I go to the doctor?

Yes. You may leave your designated quarantine location only for medical emergencies or to seek medical care. Please call your doctor before going to their office or facility.

## Can I go to meetings or exercise areas if my quarantine location?

Do not visit **any** public spaces. Those include pools, meetings rooms, fitness centers, restaurants and more.

#### May I have visitors at my quarantine location?

No visitors are allowed, other than doctors, health care providers or other critical infrastructure service providers. See Attachment A.

### What if someone is living with me at my quarantine location?

If someone else is at your location, you must comply with social distancing guidelines, including remaining at least six feet away from others, and frequently cleaning surfaces. If you need help accessing food, please contact your local jurisdiction to request help.

### If I can't leave, how do I get food at my quarantine location?

Many grocery stores deliver food, and delivery services can bring food from restaurants, all of which can be dropped off outside the door to prevent contact.

# Some travelers and businesses providing critical infrastructure are exempted. What is considered critical infrastructure?

A variety of professions and businesses support critical infrastructure, including health care, first responders, financial institutions and more. Find the full list at: <a href="https://gov.alaska.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/03232020-COVID-19-Health-Mandate-010-Attachment-A.pdf">https://gov.alaska.gov/wp-content/uploads/sites/2/03232020-COVID-19-Health-Mandate-010-Attachment-A.pdf</a>

# What should you do if your business or employees support critical infrastructure and you have travelers coming in from out of state?

If your business is included in <u>Attachment A</u>, and your workers must travel to enter Alaska, you need to submit a plan or protocol for maintaining critical infrastructure to the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development by 3 p.m. March 24, "outlining how you will avoid the spread of COVID-19 and not endanger the lives of the communities in which you operate, of others who serve as a part of that infrastructure or the ability of that critical infrastructure to function." Plans may be submitted to <u>akcovidplans@ak-prepared.com</u>.

EXAMPLE: What if a telecommunications provider is wondering if it needs to enforce quarantine requirements on its in-state employees who have been on vacation out of state, and are now returning? (Note that communications providers have been deemed "essential" critical infrastructure).

The provider (company) needs to submit their business implementation plan to <a href="mailto:akcovidplans@ak-prepared.com">akcovidplans@ak-prepared.com</a>. That plan should articulate how the company is protecting workers and customers with respect to the mandate and guidance for quarantine and social distancing. If the employee cannot comport with the company guidance and recommendations for social distancing, we suggest the company have that employee stay home.

# EXAMPLE: I work for a moving company, and I drive across the U.S.-Canadian border frequently, but I'm alone in my truck. Do I still have to quarantine for 14 days after arriving in Alaska?

No. Moving and trucking companies are considered critical infrastructure, but they are asked to have a mitigation plan on how to avoid the public and help to prevent the spread of COVID-19. This plan should be submitted to <a href="mailto:akcovidplans@ak-prepared.com">akcovidplans@ak-prepared.com</a>.

# EXAMPLE: What if someone is traveling back to their home from out-of-state but have a stopover in another community on their way home? What does this person need to do?

Transient accommodations, including temporary lodging at the stopover location at a hotel, is permissible. The same applies for those travelers with overnights due to weather or other extenuating circumstances on their journey home.

# EXAMPLE: If someone is traveling back to a village but stopping in Anchorage, does that person need to quarantine in both communities?

The person traveling must quarantine when they arrive at their home or employee lodging at the final destination. This person does not need to quarantine in Anchorage. Travelers should state the final destination, not intermediary destinations.

What if my critical infrastructure business or operation relies on outside travelers, but they won't be entering Alaska prior to April 21, do I have to submit a plan?

No.

#### I have been traveling to various communities within Alaska, does this impact me?

At this time, travel within the state of Alaska is not restricted by this mandate, though public health guidance in <u>Health Alert 009 issued March 20</u> calls for avoiding non-essential in-state trips.

# My spouse is in the military and will be arriving in Alaska, does this impact traveling military personnel?

All people arriving in Alaska, whether resident, worker or visitor, are required to self-quarantine for 14 days and monitor for illness. Arriving residents and workers in self-quarantine should work from home, unless they support critical infrastructure (see Attachment A).

# I am in the military and my dependents will be arriving in Alaska, how does this impact military dependents?

All people arriving in Alaska, whether resident, worker or visitor, are required to self-quarantine for 14 days and monitor for illness. Arriving residents and workers in self-quarantine should work from home, unless they support critical infrastructure (see Attachment A).

Will the mandatory declaration form be collected at the highway border as well as airports? What state agency will be collecting the Declaration forms at the airports and will they be given to municipalities and or law enforcement agencies? What will be done with the forms? Are they public records?

For March 24, 2020, forms are being collected in drop boxes at Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport (ANC), and Fairbanks International Airport (FAI). For travelers to Juneau (JNU), forms will be collected by City and Borough of Juneau employees. All forms will be collected and provided to State of Alaska Department of Health and Social Services staff in all locations, and will be secured and stored with DHSS. They will not be given to municipalities or to any local, state or federal law enforcement agencies. If in the future a misdemeanor criminal investigation is ongoing, law enforcement will request specific documentation (evidence) from the department, which will be processed in the customary way documentation is provided during criminal investigations, ensuring protocols for chain of custody are applied. The State of Alaska is developing the procedures and collection protocols for forms at land border crossings. The same protocols will apply for collection and preservation.