Alaska Patient Guide for Beginning Buprenorphine Treatment

Before you begin, you want to feel moderately sick from your withdrawal symptoms

It should be at least:

v 12 hours since you used heroin/fentanyl
v" 12 hours since you snorted pain pills (OxyContin)
v 16 hours since you swallowed pain pills

[]Restlessness
[[]Heavy yawning
[]Enlarged pupils
[C]Runny nose

[]Body aches

[] Tremors/twitching
[C]Chills or sweating
[] Anxious or irritable

You should feel at least three of these symptoms:

[ ]Goose bumps

[]Stomach cramps,
nausea or diarrhea

(vomiting not necessary)
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Once you're ready, follow these instructions to start on the medication:

Day 1

-12 mg of buprenorphine

Dosing depends on how early on the first day you start

Most peop
Step 1
Take Wait
15t dose 1 hour total
a4
mg

e Put the strip under your
tongue. Do NOT swallow.

e Keep it there until fully
dissolved (about 15 min.),
then wait for 45 minutes.

e Do NOT eat, drink or talk
at this time.

le feel better the first day after 8-12 mg
Step 2 Step 3
Still feel sick? Wait Still Wait
Take 2" dose 2 hours uncomfortable? 2 hours
Take 3™ dose
4 4

mg mg

e Most people feel better
after two doses or 8 mg.

o |f feeling more withdrawal
symptoms after the 1°
dose, you will likely feel
better after the 2" dose.

e Take the 3" dose only if
needed.

4 mg of buprenorphine =

4
mg

4
mg

8 mg

A full film is 8 mg so you need to
cut the film in half

Still
uncomfortable?
Take 4™ dose

e Stop after this dose.
e Do NOT exceed 16 mg on
Day 1.

Do NOT mix buprenorphine with alcohol, benzodiazepines — such as Xanax, Ativan or Valium — or other sedatives.

Day 2

8-12 mg of buprenorphine

e Most people feel better the
second day using 8-16 mg of
buprenorphine.

o |f you wake up on day 2 and
feel fine, take the same dose
you took on day 1.

o |f you wake up on day 2
feeling withdrawal, take the
same dose you took on day 1,
plus an additional 4 mg.

o |f you feel withdrawal
symptoms more than 2 hours
after your initial dose, you
can take an additional 4 mg
every 2 hours up to a
maximum of 16 mg/day.

e Repeat your total day 2 dose
each day until your next
follow-up appointment.

If you develop worsening symptoms while starting buprenorphine before your next scheduled outpatient appointment,

return to the emergency department

Developed by the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services with assistance from Dr. Mark Simon,; based on materials from the National Institute on Drug Abuse; National Institutes
of Health; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
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Medications for opioid use disorder (OUD)

Naltrexone, methadone, and buprenorphine

The right treatment for a person with OUD will depend on the severity of their disease, their readiness to engage in
treatment, their preference regarding treatment, clinician preferences regarding treatment, and local options for
treatment. In addition, the right medication for an individual may change over time as they are further along in their
recovery or during relapse. Described below are the three different medications approved for OUD, and the different
treatment environments in which these medications are prescribed.

In general, if a person can be successfully treated at an office-based opioid treatment (OBOT) program, it may be
preferred to an opioid treatment program (OTP) as the OBOT is less restrictive. However, individuals with more severe
opioid use disorder, who have other severe complicating use disorders (like alcohol, benzodiazepines or
methamphetamine), have less support of sober family and friends, and those with complicating psychiatric iliness and
social and legal challenges may be better treated at an OTP as compared to an OBOT program.

While the effectiveness of an abstinence-only approach is low, and the risk of overdose with relapse is higher, the option
of abstinence should be considered prior to starting buprenorphine.

Clinic model

Regulatory
treatment
context

Visit
frequency

Counseling/
recovery

Buprenorphine

Office-based opioid treatment (OBOT):

A primary care clinic model that has
additional expertise treating OUD. An
OBOT may also treat other use
disorders. Buprenorphine can also be
administered within an opioid
treatment program (see methadone).

Suboxone can be prescribed by any
licensed prescriber with a DEA
registration and a buprenorphine
waiver or in compliance with the 72-
hour rule.?

Variable. A typical schedule is 1-2
times per week for 1 month,
progressing to every other week for 1-
2 months, then to 1 visit every 1-3
months.

Individual and group counseling,
Alcoholics or Narcotics Anonymous,
and other recovery activities are
strongly recommended. These
activities may be offered at the OBOT,
although more commonly, the patient
may need to go elsewhere for these
services.

Methadone

Opioid treatment program (OTP):*
A highly specialized and regulated
clinic that is specifically designed
to treat patients with OUD. An
OTP is more intense, more
supportive and more restrictive
than an OBOT. An OTP may also
treat other use disorders.

Methadone can only be dispensed
at a certified OTP or in compliance
with the 72-hour rule.?

Daily for months, progress to earn
increasing “take home” privileges
over a period of months to years.

Individual and group counseling is
embedded within the OTP and is a
required part of treatment. The
patient can get most, if not all of
their recovery-related care at the
same location.

Naltrexone?

Any prescriber

While it is important to discuss
the option of naltrexone for
patients with OUD, it generally
should not be initiated in the
ED setting unless the
prescriber has significant
experience treating OUD.

Monthly

Patients who tend to be
successful with naltrexone are
highly motivated patients with
a strong support system. As
with all patients with use
disorders, ongoing recovery
activities are encouraged.

1For many patients, the more intensive treatment environment, embedded behavioral health services, and daily contact that occurs
in an OTP is beneficial and necessary at certain stages of recovery.

2Naltrexone has more limited evidence supporting its long-term efficacy when compared to buprenorphine and methadone.

3per title 21, §1306.07(c), a non-waivered prescriber can administer buprenorphine or methadone in the ED and the patient can
return for three consecutive days to get buprenorphine or methadone as they wait for an appointment.

Developed by the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services with assistance from Dr. Mark Simon; based on materials from the National
Institute on Drug Abuse; National Institutes of Health; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

11/19/2019





