### **SPARKLERS**

#### Alaska Confidentiality Laws





# Briana, a 15-year-old girl who is covered by Medicaid, is requesting an IUD and does not have the consent of her parent. What do you do?

a. Tell the patient that she has to come back with a parent's consent.

b. Inform the patient that you can and will perform the procedure, but must call a parent to notify them.

c. Explain to the patient that you can perform the procedure without parental consent, but her parents may receive an Explanation of Benefits.

Answer: (c.) Explain to Briana that you can perform the procedure without parental consent since she is covered under Medicaid,

but her parents could receive an Explanation of Benefits.

Michael is 14 and is requesting a chlamydia test. He doesn't want to tell his dad,

who's in the waiting room. Does he need consent from his father?

a. Yes

b. No

🔀 I MICHIGAN MEDICINE

Answer: No. Minors may consent on their own to testing and treatment of sexually transmitted infections. Maintaining client confidentiality can be an important part of insuring access to care and a health care provider who treats a minor ordinarily must not notify the minor's parent or guardian about the treatment without the minor's expressed permission.



Remember, it's best practice in many cases for a provider to encourage teens to talk to their parents/guardians, even if consent is not required. Encouraging this dialogue can be an opportunity to set up successful parent/teen communication.

\_\_\_\_\_



### Alaska Confidentiality Laws





Jade is 16 years old. Can she receive a pregnancy test AND prenatal care without her parents' consent?

a. Yes b. No

Answer: Yes. Alaska law states that minors are able to consent to prevention, diagnosis and treatment of pregnancy.

Which of these options below DO NOT require parental consent for a teen living with her parents?

- a. HPV vaccine
- b. Abortion
- c. Treatment for controlled substances or alcohol
- d. Admission to an inpatient mental health facility

Answer: (b.) Minors may consent to abortion. All other options require a parent's consent. However, according to Alaska law, if the minor's parents cannot be reached, or when reached, refuse to give or withhold consent, a teen would be able to consent for any of the other above options.

Remember, it's best practice in many cases for a provider to encourage teens to talk to their parents/guardians, even if consent is not required. Encouraging this dialogue can be an opportunity to set up successful parent/teen communication.



### Alaska Confidentiality Laws





# Carlos is 14 years old and needs mental health care. Which of these statements is true for him?

a. He can consent to outpatient counseling without his parent's consent

b. If he needs to, he can consent to depression medication without his parent's consent

c. He needs to get his parent's consent for any sort of mental health treatment.

Answer: (c.) Minors need parental consent for inpatient and outpatient mental health screening and treatment,

unless the minor's parents cannot be reached, or when reached, refuse to give or withhold consent.

### Which of the following require parent/guardian consent?

- a. Emergency care
- b. Any care for legally emancipated minors
- c. Contraceptives
- d. Vaccines
- e. Treatment for HIV
- f. Outpatient substance abuse treatment

Answer: (d.) and (f.)

🔀 I MICHIGAN MEDICINE

- Vaccines, including the HPV, require parental consent.
- Outpatient substance abuse treatment also requires parental consent.
- If the minor's parents cannot be reached, or when reached, refuse to give or withhold consent, a teen would be able to consent for these services.

Remember, it's best practice in many cases for a provider to encourage teens to talk to their parents/guardians, even if consent is not required. Encouraging this dialogue can be an opportunity to set up successful parent/teen communication.