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RE: Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD Screening) 

Dear Alaska Healthcare Provider: 

Thank you for your service as a healthcare provider for Alaskan children and their families. We at 

the Department of Health (DOH) appreciate your commitment to ensuring the best outcomes for 

children born in our state. Recently, questions have come to the Department regarding the 

requirements related to Critical Congenital Heart Disease (CCHD) screening for newborns, as 

outlined in Alaska state statutes and regulations. Because it has been many years since guidance 

on these requirements was given, we wanted to provide you with an update and clarification 

specific to your work. 

Under Alaska Statute AS 18.15.205, the state mandates that all newborns be screened for CCHD. 

The Alaska Administrative Code, 7 AAC 27.630, further elaborates on this. According to these 

state laws, the CCHD screening must be conducted using pulse oximetry, which is a non-invasive 

procedure measuring oxygen levels in the blood.  

Requirements for birthing facilities licensed by DOH: 

Screening is done when a baby is 24 to 48 hours of age by personnel trained in the procedure. For 

a baby discharged from a free-standing birth center before they are 24 hours old, the screening 

may be completed at the follow-up home visit when the baby is between 24 and 48 hours of age. 
When a newborn is discharged from a hospital prior to 24 hours, screen the newborn prior to 

discharge as close to 24 hours as possible. 

Other considerations: 

• Performing the screening in conjunction with other standard-of-care newborn screenings

will increase the efficiency of the procedure.

• Earlier screening (less than 24 hours of age) may lead to false positive results.

• Health care providers should inform families that a negative screening result does not

exclude the possibility of CCHD.

As licensed birth attendants, you are responsible for ensuring that each newborn in your care 

undergoes the CCHD screening. The screening should be conducted using the algorithm endorsed 

by the American Academy of Pediatrics and written in the DOH CCHD toolkit. The results of the 

screening should be recorded, and any abnormal findings reported promptly to a healthcare 

provider for further evaluation. It is essential to document the screening in the newborn’s medical 

record, including the time of the test and the results. 
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CCHD Screening Protocol: 

Please ensure that your practices align with the DOH statutory and regulatory requirements. 

Compliance with CCHD screening guidelines is critical to safeguarding the health of newborns 

and adhering to state law. 

If you have any questions or need further clarification regarding these requirements, please do not 

hesitate to contact the Newborn Screening Program via telephone at 907-334-2295, email 

newborn.screening@alaska.gov, or reference the CCHD toolkit online at 

https://health.alaska.gov/dph/wcfh/Documents/toolkit_CCHD.pdf  

Thank you for your attention to this important matter and for your continued commitment to 

providing quality care to Alaska newborns.  

Robert Lawrence, MD 

Chief Medical Officer 

Measurement #1 
Pulse Ox on Righi Hand (RH) and One Fool After 24 Hours of Age 

FAIL 
Pulse ox of 89% or less 
,n either the RH or foot 
Action: Do Nol Repeat 

for Screening, Refer for 
Immediate Assessment 

' RmsT 
Pulse ox. of 90·94% In BOTH the RH 
and foot OR a difference of 4¾ or 

more between the RH and foot 
Action: Repeat pulse ox 
measurements In 1 hour 

Measurement #2 
Pulse Ox on Righi Hand (RH) and One Fool 1 Hr After Measurement 

PASS 
Pulse ox of 95% or more In RH 
or foot AND dittereooe ol 3% 

or less between the two 
Action: Do Nol Repeat for Screening. 

Provide Normal Newborn Care 

FAIL I 

Pulse ox of 89% or less 
in either the RH or foot 
Action: Do Not Repeal 

tor Screening, Reter for 
Immediate Assessment 

RETEST' 
Pulse ox of 90-94% in BOTH the RH 
and foot OR a difference of 4% or 

more between the RH and foot 
Action: Repeat pulse 01 

measurements il'I 1 hour 
... 

Measurement 13 
Pulse Ox on Righi Hand (RH) and One Foot 1 Hr After Measurement t 2 

'\ PASS 
Pulse ox ol 95% or more in RH 
or foot AND differe11ce of 3% 

or less between the two 
Action: Do Not Repeat for Screening, 

Provide Normal Newborn Care 

FAIL 
Pulse ox of 89% or less 
m either the RH or loot 

Action: Do Not Repeal for 
Screening, Refer for Immediate 

Asseument 

'----

RmsT 
Pulse ox of 90-94% In BOTH the RH 
and loot OR a difference of 4% or 

more between the RH and foot 
Action: Do Not Repeat. Clinical 

Assessment 

~ PASS 
Pulse ox of 95% or more in RH 
or foot AND dtfference of 3% 

or less between the two 
Action: Do Not Repeat for Screening, 

Provide Normal Newborn Care 

_/ 
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