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INFORMATION YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT IN-HOME CARE 
 

To be eligible to hire an In-home caregiver and participate in the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP), the parent(s) of 

the family must be participating in their eligible activity outside of the family’s home, at the same time, and need care for 

at least one of the following: 
 

1.   At least four children who are not in school at any time during the day, are otherwise eligible, and are not the 

children of the in-home caregiver; and/or 

2.   At least one child with special needs (verification from a health care or mental health care provider supporting the 

special need); and/or 

3.   At least one child who is younger than 12 months of age (if this is the only qualifying child, eligibility to use In-

home care ends the month following the child turning 12 months of age); and/or 

4.   At least one child, if all parents in the family are working a night shift (if this is the only qualifying criteria, the 

family would not be eligible the month following the month when one parent is no longer working a night shift) 
 

IF YOU ARE ELIGIBLE TO HIRE AN IN-HOME CAREGIVER 
 

You are required and responsible to pay your In-home caregiver at least the State of Alaska minimum wage for straight 

time plus any over time. This means if your CCAP benefit amount including your monthly family contribution (co-pay) is 

less than the hours child care is used, multiplied by the Alaska minimum wage, you must pay your caregiver the 

difference to ensure you are paying your caregiver at least the State of Alaska minimum wage amount. 
 

The State of Alaska minimum wage is currently $10.34 per hour at straight time and overtime is currently $15.51.  
       
  Child Care Assistance Program payment rates* 

In-home Child Care Assistance Program Rates Full Month Part Month 

Infant $521.00 $322.00 

Toddler $492.00 $359.00 

Preschool age $440.00 $264.00 

School Age $430.00 $258.00 
* Rates are for the Municipality of Anchorage rate region listed on the Child Care Assistance Program Rate Schedule,      

effective March 1, 2019.  

 

Please remember if you work a 40-hour week, your caregiver may be working up to 50 hours per week because of your 

travel time from home to work and work to home. You need to ensure the hours care will be provided by your caregiver 

allows for your travel time. If you have labor law questions, contact the State of Alaska Department of Labor, Wage and 

Hour division at: http://labor.alaska.gov/lss or by phone in Juneau (907) 465-4842, Anchorage (907) 269-4900, or 

Fairbanks (907) 451-2886. If you have questions relating to the taxes you must pay regarding your employee, locate a 

Taxpayer Assistance Center with the Internal Revenue Service at: https://www.irs.gov/. 

 
Example: If you (the parent hiring an In-home caregiver) work 8 hours per day, 5 days per week, and travel ½ hour to 

and from work each day (9 hrs per day) this is up to 45 hours of child care needed per week. 40 hours straight time X 

$10.34 = $413.60 per week and 5 hours overtime X $15.51 =$77.55. You would owe your caregiver $413.60 + $77.55 = 

$491.15 each week and $491.15 X 4.3 weeks = $2,111.95  per month, depending on the number of days in each month. 

The CCAP rate paid for In-home care is based on the child’s age, unit of care authorized, and the payment rate from the 

Child Care Assistance Program Rate Schedule. Information provided in this document uses the State Rate for an 

Anchorage based family. For example, if you are determined eligible for a full month (unit of care), based on working 8 

hours per day 5 days per week, the CCAP would issue a Child Care Assistance Authorization document allowing payment 

at the full month rate from the Child Care Assistance Program Rate Schedule, minus your family’s monthly contribution 

(co-pay).  You will pay your caregiver the over-time amount plus your co-pay, out of pocket each month. 

 

If the Child Care Assistance Authorization Document shows an amount higher than the minimum wage 

calculation, you must pay the higher amount. The maximum monthly amount the CCAP may pay for all the 

children in a family using an in-home caregiver is based on the minimum wage X 2 multiplied by 170 to represent 

17 full days in the month. $10.34 X 2 = $20.68 X 170 = $3,515.60. For example, if the eligible care authorized in a 

month by the CCAP for a family’s eight children is $4800.00. The CCAP maximum payment would be $3,515.60 

and you will pay the additional difference of $1,284.40 out of pocket to your caregiver each month. 

http://labor.alaska.gov/lss
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