

Parent/Guardian Guide to State-supplied Vaccine and Vaccine Administration Fees Children 0 through 18 Years of Age



Medical providers are not permitted to charge for the cost of vaccines they receive through the Alaska Immunization Program (a.k.a. state-supplied), however, they may bill for administration and/or visit fees and vaccine they privately purchase. Click here for a list of providers who receive state-supplied vaccines.

The information below describes the billing practices providers receiving vaccine through this program must follow. If a child meets more than one eligibility status listed below, discuss with your provider which is most cost-effective for you.

Eligibility Birth through 18 years	Definitions	Vaccine Administration Fee Bill To	Vaccine Administration Fee Cap	State-supplied Vaccine Fee: NONE
Medicaid Eligible	A child who is either eligible for or enrolled in Medicaid A child who is insured and Medicaid enrolled	Medicaid	Determined by Medicaid	Providers must not charge for the cost of state-supplied vaccines. Ask your provider if they are administering state-supplied or privately purchased vaccine. They may bill for privately purchased vaccine and the administration fee information on this chart may not apply.
Uninsured	A child who has no health insurance	Parent/guardian/individual of record [†]	\$27.44 (Per Dose)	
American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN)	For the purposes of the <u>VFC</u> program, AI/AN is defined by the <u>Indian Health Care Improvement Act [25 U.S.C. 1603]</u>	Parent/guardian/individual of record [†]	\$27.44 (Per Dose) unless paid by Medicaid	
Underinsured	A child who has health insurance, but the coverage does not include vaccines; OR A child whose insurance does not cover all ACIP-recommended vaccines. The child would be eligible to receive those vaccines not covered by the insurance; OR A child whose insurance caps the cost for vaccine coverage is eligible to receive VFC vaccines only after the insurance cap has been reached	Parent/guardian/individual of record [†]	\$27.44 (Per Dose)	
Insured	Children who have insurance and for whom state- supplied vaccine is used	Insurance	Determined by insurance	

†Patients cannot be denied vaccines or reported to collections because the parent/guardian/individual of record is not able to pay the administration fee.