Minutes for the Executive Committee of the Advisory Board on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse (ABADA) and Alaska Mental Health Board (AMHB)

08/09/22

ABADA

Lee Breinig – NP
Anthony Cravalho – P
Diane Fielden – P
Renee Schofield – Ex

AMHB

Monique Andrews – NP Sharon Clark – P Brenda Moore – P Carlene Tautfest – P

Other Board members present

Kathleen Totemoff
Tonie Protzman
Chase Griffith
Karen Malcolm-Smith
Kurt Hoenack
Bobby Dorton

Staff Present

Bev Schoonover Teri Tibbett Jennifer Weisshaupt Kevin Holian

• Roll Call and Executive Committee Members Welcome

Sharon Clark, Alaska Mental Health Board Chair
Renee Schofield, Advisory Board on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Chair
Read Mission Statement
Roll Call – Kevin Holian

• New Business

- o Alaska Division of Behavioral Health Updates SAMSHA Block Grant Application Review
 - DBH Staff and Board Member Introductions
 - What is the Block Grant?

- Duties of AMHB/ABADA
- Application Review
- Comments & Discussion
- o Farina Brown, Deputy Director of DBH
 - DBH Updates
- o Grant Rich, Research Analyst III
 - Grant gave in-depth presentation on the Block Grant application.

Other Business

- o Letter to SAMSHA: concerns, questions, recommendations
- AMHB/ABADA Nominations Committee

Upcoming Meeting Dates

Next EC Meeting – September 13th, 10am to 11am

Next Board Meeting – October 11th to 13th, Westmark Hotel in Fairbanks