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INFORMATION YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT IN-HOME CARE 
 
To be eligible to hire an In-home caregiver and participate in the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP), the parent(s) of 
the family must be participating in their eligible activity outside of the family’s home, at the same time, and need care for 
at least one of the following: 
 


1.   At least four children who are not in school at any time during the day, are otherwise eligible, and are not the 
children of the in-home caregiver; and/or 


2.   At least one child with special needs (verification from a health care or mental health care provider supporting the 
special need); and/or 


3.   At least one child who is younger than 12 months of age (if this is the only qualifying child, eligibility to use In-
home care ends the month following the child turning 12 months of age); and/or 


4.   At least one child, if all parents in the family are working a night shift (if this is the only qualifying criteria, the 
family would not be eligible the month following the month when one parent is no longer working a night shift) 


 


IF YOU ARE ELIGIBLE TO HIRE AN IN-HOME CAREGIVER 
 


You are required and responsible to pay your In-home caregiver at least the State of Alaska minimum wage for straight 
time plus any over time. This means if your CCAP benefit amount including your monthly family contribution (co-pay) is 
less than the hours child care is used, multiplied by the Alaska minimum wage, you must pay your caregiver the 
difference to ensure you are paying your caregiver at least the State of Alaska minimum wage amount. 
 
The State of Alaska minimum wage is currently $9.80 per hour at straight time and overtime is currently $14.70.  
       
  Child Care Assistance Program payment rates* 


In-home Child Care Assistance Program Rates Full time month Part time month 
Infant $518.00 $311.00 


Toddler $492.00 $295.00 
Preschool age $440.00 $264.00 
School Age $430.00 $258.00 


* Rates are for the Anchorage rate region listed on the Child Care Assistance Program Rate Schedule, effective March 1, 
2010  
 


Please remember if you work a 40 hour week your caregiver may be working up to 50 hours per week because of your 
travel time from home to work and work to home. You need to ensure the hours care will be provided by your caregiver 
allows for your travel time. If you have labor law questions, contact the State of Alaska Department of Labor, Wage and 
Hour division at: http://labor.alaska.gov/lss or by phone in Juneau (907) 465-4842, Anchorage (907) 269-4900, or 
Fairbanks (907) 451-2886. If you have questions relating to the taxes you must pay regarding your employee, locate a 
Taxpayer Assistance Center with the Internal Revenue Service at: https://www.irs.gov/. 
 
Example: If you (the parent hiring an In-home caregiver) work 8 hours per day, 5 days per week, and travel ½ hour to 
and from work each day (9 hrs per day) this is up to 45 hours of child care needed per week. 40 hours straight time x 
$9.80 = $392.00 per week and 5 hours overtime X $14.70 =$73.50. You would owe your caregiver $392.00 + $73.50 
=$465.50 each week and $465.50 X 4.3 weeks = $2001.65  per month, depending on the number of days in each month. 
The CCAP rate paid for In-home care is based on the child’s age, unit of care authorized, and the payment rate from the 
Child Care Assistance Program Rate Schedule. Information provided in this document uses the State Rate for an 
Anchorage based family. For example, if you are determined eligible for a full time month, based on working 8 hours per 
day 5 days per week, the CCAP would issue a Child Care Assistance Authorization document allowing payment at the 
full time month amount in the Child Care Assistance Program Rate Schedule based on the ages of your child(ren), minus 
your family’s contribution (co-pay).  
 
If the Child Care Assistance Authorization document shows an amount higher than the minimum wage 
calculation, you must pay the higher amount. The maximum monthly total amount the CCAP may cover for all the 
children in a family using an in-home caregiver is based on the minimum wage X 2 multiplied by 170 to represent 
17 full days in the month. $9.80 X 2 = $19.60 X 170 = $3332.00. For example, if the eligible care authorized in a 
month by the CCAP for a family’s eight children is $4800.00. The CCAP maximum payment would be $3332.00 
and you need to pay the difference of $1468.00 out of pocket to your caregiver for that month. 



http://labor.alaska.gov/lss

https://www.irs.gov/
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 Alaska Department of Labor 
and Workforce Development 


Division of Employment and  
Training Services 


Employment Security Tax 
 
 
              


 
Juneau – Registration 
1111 W. 8th St., Room 201 
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK  99811 – 5509 
(907) 465-2757 
Fax (907) 465-2374 
 


Anchorage Employment Security Tax Office 
3301 Eagle St., Room 106 
P.O. Box 241767 
Anchorage, AK  99524 – 1767 
(907) 269-4850 
Fax (907) 269-4845 


 


Fairbanks Employment Security Tax Office 
675 7th Ave., Station L 
Fairbanks, AK  99701 – 4513 
(907) 451-2876 
Fax (907) 451-2883 


 


Juneau Employment Security Tax Office 
1111 W. 8th St., Room 201 
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK  99811-5509 
(907) 465-2787 
Fax (907) 465-2374 


 


Kenai Employment Security Tax Office 
145 Main Street Loop, Suite 143 
Kenai, AK  99611 
(907) 283-0350 
Fax  (907) 283-5152 


 


   Wasilla Employment Security Tax Office 
   877 Commercial Drive 
  Wasilla, AK  99654-6937 
   (907) 352-2535 
   Fax (907) 352-2581 
 
      


Alaska 
Employer 
Registration 
Form for Daycare 
Services 
 
Who is required to file this form? 
Every employing unit, including any person, firm, corporation, 
or other type of organization that for some portion of a day 
within the calendar year has employed one or more persons, is 
required by law and regulation to file this report.  If you are 
uncertain of your need to register, contact the Registration 
Unit or your nearest Field Tax Office. 
 
 
TO CONTACT US: 
 
 Toll-free telephone number to connect to your Field 


Auditor if you are located in Alaska (except Anchorage, 
Fairbanks, Juneau, Kenai or Wasilla), out-of-state and 
Canada: 


(888) 448-2937 
 


 Toll-free telephone number to connect to your Employer 
Account Representative in our Central Office in Juneau 
for all areas outside Juneau, out-of-state and Canada: 


(888) 448-3527 
 


♦ Toll-free telephone number to connect to Relay Alaska 
Services: 


(800) 770-8973 
 


 Email at: esd.tax@alaska.gov  
 
Mail the completed Registration Form to: 


 
Alaska Department of Labor  


      and Workforce Development 
Employment Security Tax 
P.O. Box 115509 
Juneau, AK  99811-5509 


 
We are an equal opportunity employer/program.   
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon  


request to individuals with disabilities. 



mailto:esd.tax@alaska.gov
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR NEW EMPLOYERS 
 
 
Check the box on the top left of Page 3 to indicate if this is a new or update registration.  Complete the following if you are a new 
employer.  See below for update instructions. 
 
 
 
1) Mark the item that describes the type of employer 


you are. If you are married you may be registered 
as a sole proprietor or partnership. 


 
2) List your Federal Employer Identification Number 


(FEIN).  If you have employees, you must have an 
FEIN.  Do not use your Social Security Number. 


 
3) If you were previously assigned an account 


number by the Employment Security Division in 
the last three years, indicate that number. 


 
4) Indicate the month, day, and year your business 


first paid or anticipates to first pay wages in 
Alaska. 


 
5) 5a) Indicate if you anticipate paying wages 


totaling $1,000 or more in a calendar quarter. 
 
 5b) Indicate if you paid wages totaling $1,000 or 


more in a calendar quarter in the previous year. 
 
6) List your mailing address. 
 
7) List your telephone number. 
 
8) List a physical worksite address in Alaska if 


different than Item 6.  If you do not have a 
physical worksite in Alaska, please explain.  The 
physical worksite should be a private home where 
the domestic service is performed. 


 
9) List your FAX number. 
 
10) Indicate if you are enrolled in a daycare assistance 


program under the Child Care and Development 
Block Grant Act of 1990 or similar program.    


11) Indicate whose home the service is provided in 
and if the care provider is a relative and the 
relatives age. Some services performed by family 
members may be excluded from coverage. Also 
provide the name and social security number of 
the caregiver. 


 
 
 
 


RESPONSIBLE PARTY INFORMATION: 
 
Sole Proprietor:  List your name, residence address,  


     telephone number, title and Social 
Security Number. Your title should 
reflect your relationship to the 
individual the daycare services are 
being provided for. 


 
Partnership:  List the requested information for 


each partner. 
 
Other:    List the requested information for 


principals or responsible parties.  
  
 
Responsibility Codes 
  1. File contribution reports 
  2. Pay contributions due 
  3. Person determines which creditor is paid 


first. 
  4. Check signing authority. 
  5. Hire/Fire authority 
  6. All of the above   
 
 
CERTIFICATION and SIGNATURES: 
This Registration form must be signed by the SOLE 
PROPRIETOR, ALL PARTNERS of a partnership, 
ALL principals or responsible parties. 
 
Contact Person: 
If you have a business contact person, such as an 
accountant, bookkeeper, or tax preparer, provide their 
name, phone number and e-mail address.
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Alaska Employer Registration Form for Daycare Services 


 


Alaska Department of Labor               New  
and Workforce Development               Update 
Employment Security Tax 
PO Box 115509,  Juneau, AK  99811-5509 


Account Number Bus. Type NAICS Predecessor Predecessor 
Dues? 


Field Auditor Cont. 
Code 


Rt-Hld & 
Mailings 


Rate 
Code 


Rate 
Year 


Rate 
Link 
Type 


Rate Receive 
Date 


 THE ABOVE AREA IS FOR STATE USE ONLY 
1) Type of Employer:   Sole Proprietor   Other (Please explain)   


2)  Federal Identification Number (if available):  3) Were you ever assigned an account number by this 
Agency?      
    Yes       No      If yes, list number: 


4) Date first paid wages: 
 


      Month  _______    Day  ____   Year ________      
(Your account will be opened this date) 


5a) Do you anticipate paying wages totaling $1,000 or more in a 
calendar quarter this year?    Yes     No 
 
5b)  Did you pay wages totaling $1,000 or more in a calendar 
quarter last year?    Yes     No 
 
                  Qtr 1 = Jan/Feb/March         Qtr 3 = July/Aug/Sep 
                  Qtr 2 = April/May/June        Qtr 4 = Oct/Nov/Dec 
 


6)  Mailing Address:                                     City                                  State                        Zip 7)  Work Phone: 


8)  Physical Worksite Address in Alaska:  9)  Fax Number: 


10)  Are you enrolled in a daycare assistance program?    Yes  No 
If yes, please provide  ____________________________________________________________  (_____)_______________ 
                                                          Program Name                                                                                   Telephone Number 
11) Select all that apply: 
    a) Daycare provided in my home.                                   
    b) Daycare provided in caregiver’s home.           
    c) Daycare provided by a relative.                          
         Relative’s relationship to you:  _________________________________________________ Relative’s Age ________      
     d) Caregiver’s Name:  _______________________________________________ SSN: ___________________                                                                              


 
CERTIFICATION:  With my signature, I certify that information provided on this form is correct and true to the best of my belief. 


 
 
 Printed Name & Social Security Number Signature Residence Address & 


Telephone Number Title  Responsibility 
Code 


 
Name:_________________________ 
 
SSN: __________________________ 


 
 


City:  ____________                                
State: ____________ 
Zip Code: _________ 
Home phone:  


  


 
Name: _________________________ 
 
SSN: __________________________ 


 City: _____________                                 
State: ____________ 
Zip Code: _________ 
Home phone: 


  


Business Contact Person: Phone Number: E-mail: 


 





		Division of Employment and  Training Services

		Employment Security Tax

		

		Juneau – Registration

		1111 W. 8th St., Room 201

		P.O. Box 115509

		Juneau, AK  99811 – 5509

		(907) 465-2757

		Fax (907) 465-2374

		P.O. Box 241767



		675 7th Ave., Station L

		Wasilla, AK  99654-6937

		Employment Security Tax



		Juneau, AK  99811-5509



		INSTRUCTIONS FOR NEW EMPLOYERS

		THE ABOVE AREA IS FOR STATE USE ONLY

		CERTIFICATION:  With my signature, I certify that information provided on this form is correct and true to the best of my belief.
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Alaska New Hire Reporting Form 
 
Send completed form to: 
MS 13 New Hire Reporting Section 
CHILD SUPPORT SERVICES DIVISION 
550 W 7th AVE STE 310 
ANCHORAGE  AK 99501-6699 


 
 


Or fax to:  (907) 787-3197 
Message Line:    (907) 269-6685 


   Toll free in Alaska: 1 (877) 269-6685 
For information call: (907) 269-6089 


 


Employer Information 
 


Submission Date (Year / Month / Date) Contact Phone Number  Contact Fax Number  Contact Email address  
 
 


   
 
Employer Federal Identification Number  (FEIN) Employer AK Department of Labor Number   Do you provide Health Insurance to your Employee?     
 
 000 Yes  No  
 
Employer Name Employer  -  Doing Business As  / Also Known As  
 
  
 
Employer Payroll Mailing Address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
 
Employer Physical  Address  “Same” if same as mailing address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
 


Employee Information 
 
 
Employee Social Security Number  * Employee First Name M.I. Employee Last Name 
 
 


   
 
Employee Street Address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
        
 Year Month Day  Year Month Day 
Employee  
Date of Hire     /   Rehire  


        Employee  
Date of Birth  


   


* You are required to provide the social security numbers of your newly hired or rehired employees pursuant to AS 25.27.075(b).  The Child Support Services 
Division will use the social security numbers only for  the purpose of establishing and enforcing child support. 
 
 
 
Employee Social Security Number  * Employee First Name M.I. Employee Last Name 
 
 


   
 
Employee Street Address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
        
 Year Month Day  Year Month Day 
Employee  
Date of Hire     /   Rehire  


        Employee  
Date of Birth  


   


 
 
Employee Social Security Number  * Employee First Name M.I. Employee Last Name 
 
 


   
 
Employee Street Address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
        
 Year Month Day  Year Month Day 
Employee  
Date of Hire     /   Rehire  


        Employee  
Date of Birth  


   


Contact Name  Contact Title  
 
 


 







   CSSD 04-1050 (Rev 12/31/12) 


 
New Hire Reporting – continued 
Employer Name Employer Federal Identification Number  (FEIN) Submission Date (Year / Month / Date) 
 
 


  


 
 
 
Employee Social Security Number  * Employee First Name M.I. Employee Last Name 
 
 


   
 
Employee Street Address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
        
 Year Month Day  Year Month Day 
Employee  
Date of Hire     /   Rehire  


        Employee  
Date of Birth  


   


 
 
 
Employee Social Security Number  * Employee First Name M.I. Employee Last Name 
 
 


   
 
Employee Street Address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
        
 Year Month Day  Year Month Day 
Employee  
Date of Hire     /   Rehire  


        Employee  
Date of Birth  


   


 
 
 
Employee Social Security Number  * Employee First Name M.I. Employee Last Name 
 
 


   
 
Employee Street Address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
        
 Year Month Day  Year Month Day 
Employee  
Date of Hire     /   Rehire  


        Employee  
Date of Birth  


   


 
 
 
Employee Social Security Number  * Employee First Name M.I. Employee Last Name 
 
 


   
 
Employee Street Address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
        
 Year Month Day  Year Month Day 
Employee  
Date of Hire     /   Rehire  


        Employee  
Date of Birth  


   


 
 
 
Employee Social Security Number  * Employee First Name M.I. Employee Last Name 
 
 


   
 
Employee Street Address City State Zip Code 
 
 


   
        
 Year Month Day  Year Month Day 
Employee  
Date of Hire     /   Rehire  


        Employee  
Date of Birth  


   


 





		Or fax to:  (907) 787-3197

		Employer Information

		Employee Information












CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM               
Division of Public Assistance 
Child Care Program Office 


http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare 
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Office Use Only 


 
Approved Child Care Provider 


Disaster Preparedness and Emergency Evacuation Plan 
An Approved Child Care Provider must have a disaster preparedness and emergency evacuation plan that includes evacuation procedures that will ensure the 
complete evacuation of children in care, including children with limited mobility, within 150 seconds (2 ½  minutes). Documentation of monthly evacuation drills 
conducted must be maintained for three years and provided to the Department upon request. For further information, refer to 7AAC 41.222. For additional 
emergency preparedness resources please see http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare/default.aspx 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Your Emergency Plan requires both a floor plan mapping your 
evacuation routes and a written plan describing the procedures you 
will follow when evacuating your child care premises. 
 
Your floor plan must include identification of: 
• Smoke detectors, fire extinguishers, and carbon monoxide detectors;  


• Escape routes from every room with doors and windows clearly marked for 
each level of your child care; and  


• Specified meeting place outside your child care.  


Your written plan must describe the procedures you will follow 
which include: 
• For the complete evacuation of the child care and explain your plan to 


evacuate everyone within 150 seconds, including children under 30 
months of age, children with limited mobility, and children who 
otherwise may need assistance in an emergency, including a child who 
is mentally, visually, or hearing impaired; 


• For emergency situations or natural disasters that may affect the child care, 
including, as appropriate, fire, tsunami/ flooding, and earthquake 
emergencies; 


• The relocation site and plan to reunify children with their parents in the 
event of the need to relocate due to an evacuation;  


• Conducting and recording monthly emergency evacuations drills; and  


• Location of the required first aid kit(s). 


  
Fire Safety Tips: 
 


1. Sleep with bedroom doors closed. They will hold back deadly smoke. 
 


2. Teach everyone to recognize the sound of your smoke alarms and carbon 
monoxide detectors. 


 
3. Touch doors before opening them.  If hot, use your alternate escape route. 


 If cool, brace your shoulder against the door and open it cautiously. Be 
 ready to slam it if smoke or heat rush in. 
 


4. Crawl low under smoke. 
 


5. If your clothes catch on fire: stop, drop and roll. 
 


6. Get out fast. 
 


7. Don’t go back inside once you’re out. 
 


8. Choose a specific meeting place so you can see that everyone is out of 
        the house. 
 


9. Call 911. 
 
10. Practice evacuating your home every month at different times of the  


      day so everyone knows how to get out quickly from all areas of the home. 
 


11. Post your evacuation plan and discuss with children and parents. 
 


   


 



http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare





 


CC10 (06-3919) Rev 10/17 
 Page 2 of 6 


Provider Name (First, Middle and Last): __________________________________ Physical Address: ____________________________ 
 
The location in which child care services will be provided is a ___ story structure.  There are ____kitchen(s),  ____ living rooms(s),  
____ bedroom(s), ____bathroom(s), and ____ additional areas.  In case of an emergency requiring the evacuation, the designated meeting site away 
from the child care is: ________________________________________________________________.  In case of evacuation, care will be provided 
and children reunified with their parents, at the designated reunification site: ________________________________________________________. 
 
Your Floor Plan must identify each item listed. Each floor of the child care must be drawn separately: 


1. Primary Exit (Door)    
2. Secondary Exit (Door/Window)                        Draw your floor plan in this box or on a separate sheet. 
3. Exterior Door(s) 
4. Windows  
5. Smoke detector(s) 
6. Carbon monoxide detector(s) 
7. Fire Extinguisher(s) 
8. First Aid kit(s) 
9. Kitchen(s) 
10. Living Room(s) 
11. Bedroom(s) 
12. Safe meeting location outside  


of the child care facility  
(draw this outside of the home) 
 


Sample Floor Plan Evacuation routes 
FE= Fire Extinguisher 
SD= Smoke Detector 
CM= Carbon Monoxide Detector 
FA= First Aid Kit 
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Provider Name (First, Middle, and Last): _____________________________________________________________________________________ 


Written Plan: Describe the procedures that will be followed for the complete evacuation of the child care and explain your plan to evacuate everyone within 
150 seconds, including children under 30 months of age, children with limited mobility, and children who otherwise may need assistance in an 
emergency, including a child who is mentally, visually, or hearing impaired. The plan must also include procedures for emergency situations or natural 
disasters that may affect the child care location including fire; tsunami/flooding and earthquake emergencies; a relocation site to be used during the evacuation; 
and a plan to reunify children with their parents in the event the child care needs to be evacuated and relocated.  


My child care has ___ exterior doors(s).  My primary exit is the ___________door.  If exiting through this door is not possible my secondary exit 
of ________________ will be used. A first aid kit and emergency contact information is taken with us in case of evacuation. To ensure that all 
children are quickly and safely evacuated from the child care location, the following plans will be used. 
 


Fire or Carbon Monoxide: 
 
1. I will quickly determine the quickest and safest exit route at the sight of fire, smell of smoke, or the sound of the smoke or carbon monoxide 


detector by: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2.   I will assist children who can walk to the exit by: 


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3.   I will assist children with limited mobility or who need extra assistance to the exit by: 


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


4.   I will continue to keep the children safe and provide care at our designated meeting location, until able to return to the child care by: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Provider Name (First, Middle, and Last): __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5.  I will continue to keep the children safe and provide care at our designated reunification site, if unable to return to the child care, and   
    reunite children with their parents by: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 


Tsunami/Flooding: 
 
I will determine if/when evacuating the child care is necessary by monitoring weather conditions and updates by accessing the West Coast/Alaska 
Tsunami Warning Center website: http://wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov/  and/or listening/tuning in to television or radio station(s) 
______________________________________. 
 
1. If we are unable to leave the child care, I will take the children to the highest place within the child care which is: 


___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________. 
 
2. If necessary, and we are able to leave the child care, I will take the children to higher ground located at:   


___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________. 
 


3. I will assist children who can walk to exit or to higher ground by: 


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4.   I will assist children with limited mobility or who need extra assistance to the exit or to higher ground by: 


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5. Once at our designated higher ground location or the highest place within the child care, I will continue to keep the children safe and  
    provide care by: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 



http://wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov/
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Provider Name (First, Middle and Last): __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
6.  I will continue to keep the children safe and provide care at our designated reunification site, if unable to return to the child care, and  
     reunite children with their parents by: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Earthquake: 
1. I will quickly determine the safest place for children to take cover by: 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2. Children will calmly but firmly be told to stop, cover and hold on by: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3.   I will assist children with limited mobility or who need extra assistance by: 


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4.   Once the earthquake has stopped, I will assess the children for any injury by: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Provider Name (First, Middle, and Last): __________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5.   I will assess the child care location for damages by: 


______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
6. If damages to the child care require evacuation, I will relocate children to the designated reunification site by: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 


 
7. I will continue to keep the children safe and provide care at our designated reunification site, if unable to return to the child care, and reunite 


children with their parents by: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Shelter in Place.  
Should an emergency occur making it unsafe to leave the child care location, I will conduct lock down procedures: 
 


1. I will remain calm and follow all instructions given by police or other emergency responders. 
2. I will ensure all windows and doors are securely closed and locked unless instructed otherwise by police or emergency responders. 
3. I will notify the parents of children in care to not come to the child care until advised it is safe to do so. 
4. I continue to keep the children safe and provide care at the child care. 


 
Additional comments: 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
Division of Public Assistance 
Child Care Program Office 


http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare 
 
 


IN-HOME CHILD CARE PARENT/CAREGIVER AGREEMENT 
 
 


FAMILY/EMPLOYER INFORMATION: As the family hiring an In-home caregiver I am the caregiver’s 
employer. I may allow my employee to bring their own children to my home while caring for my children only 
if there will be five or fewer children in care, including all of the children in my family who are younger than 
13 years of age. 
 
Print Parent Name (First/Middle/Last): ________________________________________________________ 


Social Security Number or EIN:_________________________________ 


Physical Address:_______________________________________ City:___________________ Zip:_________ 


Number of children under 13 years of age in my family:______________ 


 
 
CAREGIVER/EMPLOYEE INFORMATION: As the employee of the family I can only bring my child(ren) 
with me while caring for the family’s children with permission from the employer. I understand I may bring my 
own children with me to the family’s home only if there will be five or fewer children in care, including all of  
the children in the family who are younger than 13 years of age. 
 
Print Caregiver Name (First/Middle/Last): ________________________________________________________ 


Social Security Number or EIN:_________________________________ 


Physical Address:_______________________________________ City:___________________ Zip:_________ 


Name(s) and age(s) of my child(ren) bringing to the family’s home : __________________________________ 
 
 
 
As the employer of the above identified caregiver, I approve for the caregiver to bring the child(ren) listed above 
to my home while caring for my children.  I will ensure there are no more than five children, younger than 13 
years of age in care. 
 
 


Employer (Parent) Printed Name  Employer (Parent) Signature  Date 


Employee (Caregiver) Printed Name Employee (Caregiver) Signature Date 


 
 


Office Use Only 



http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare
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CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
Division of Public Assistance 
Child Care Program Office 


http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare 
 


HEALTH AND SAFETY REQUIREMENTS FOR IN-HOME CHILD CARE 
 


To participate in the Child Care Assistance Program as the employer of an in-home child care caregiver 
approved under 7 AAC 41.202, I understand I must meet and maintain the health and safety requirements listed 
in 7 AAC.41.370. By signing below, I attest I have accessed and read these regulations. 
 
I understand a representative of the Department of Health and Social Services will conduct a health and 
safety inspection of my home. I agree to cooperate with the department for purposes of monitoring reviews, 
inspections, or investigations to determine my compliance with program regulations. Cooperation includes 
allowing access: to the premises where child care services are provided; all relevant records; and to children 
for purposes of conducting interviews. 
 
I understand my caregiver must obtain training on the health and safety topics listed in 7 AAC 41.370 and 
submit verification of completion within three months of being approved for Child Care Assistance Program 
participation. 
 
 
I have accessed, read, understand, and agree to meet and maintain the required background check requirements 
of 7 AAC 10.900 –7 AAC 10.990 for my caregiver. 
 
 


CERTIFICATION OF HEALTH AND SAFETY REQUIREMENTS 


I certify that I meet and will continue to meet each of the health and safety requirements of 7 AAC 41.370 and 
the applicable requirements of 7 AAC 10.900 – 7 AAC 10.990. 
 
I understand that failure to meet these requirements at any time may result in enforcement action being taken 
against me, up to and including suspension or termination from participation in the Child Care Assistance 
Program. 
 
 
_______________________________________    


   Print Name of Parent            


  
_______________________________________   ____________________________ 


   Signature of Parent         Date 
 


Office Use Only 
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CHILD CARE ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
Division of Public Assistance 
Child Care Program Office 


http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare 
 


IN-HOME CHILD CARE APPLICATION 
 


QUALIFYING CRITERIA: To qualify to utilize an in-home caregiver the family must meet at least one of 
the following verifiable criteria. Check all that apply:  


  At least four children who are not in school at any time during the day, are otherwise eligible, and are 
not the children of the In-home child care caregiver; 


  At least one child with special needs; 
  At least one child who is younger than 12 months of age; or 
  At least one child, if all parents in the family are working a night shift. 


 


FAMILY/EMPLOYER INFORMATION: The family is considered the employer of their selected In-home 
child care caregiver and responsible to ensure all program requirements are met.  Child care services for all 
children of the family who are younger than 13 years of age must be provided in the family’s home. The In-
home caregiver may bring their own child(ren) to the family’s home if there will be no more than a total of five 
children younger than 13 years of age and with written permission from the family.   
Category of Child Care Assistance:  � PASS I    � PASS II    � PASS III 


Print Parent Name (First/Middle/Last):    


Print Aliases, Maiden Name, Previous Married Name(s):____________________________________________ 


Taxpayer Identification Number or Social Security Number: _________________________________________       


Date of Birth:_________________           


Phone:          Cell: _________________________________ 


Mailing Address:   City:    Zip:   


Physical Address:   City:   Zip:   


Children of the Family, attach additional sheet if needed: 
Print Child’s Name (First/Middle/Last):____________________________________  Date of Birth:__________ 
Print Child’s Name (First/Middle/Last):____________________________________  Date of Birth:__________ 
Print Child’s Name (First/Middle/Last):____________________________________  Date of Birth:__________ 
Print Child’s Name (First/Middle/Last):____________________________________  Date of Birth:__________ 
Print Child’s Name (First/Middle/Last):____________________________________  Date of Birth:__________ 
 


BACKGROUND CHECK REQUIREMENTS: In-home caregivers must have a valid fingerprint based 
criminal history check processed through the Alaska Background Check Program (BCP). As the employer you 
must establish a provider case listing yourself as the owner with the BCP, and complete their application 
process, to receive a valid criminal history check for your In-home caregiver only. This requires you (employer) 
to have a myAlaska username and password as well as a valid email address. You must frequently monitor the 
email address you provide with this application for ongoing communication and information from the BCP and 
the Child Care Program Office. To apply to the BCP visit: https://nabcsprovider.dhss.alaska.gov. You are 
responsible for maintaining your BCP case and ensuring its accuracy. Care will not be authorized or paid for 
until all necessary clearance is received and approval of your In-home Child Care Application is granted.                                                            
If you need to establish a myAlaska account, please visit: https://my.alaska.gov 
 
Parent’s E-mail Address:__________________________      Parent’s myAlaska User Name:_______________ 
 


Office Use Only 
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IN-HOME CAREGIVER/EMPLOYEE INFORMATION: This is the individual you are selecting to come to 
your home and provide child care services for your children who are younger than 13 years of age and is 
considered your employee. This individual must be at least 18 years of age; have a high school diploma, GED or 
the equivalent; and may not reside in your family’s home. This individual may not participate in or conduct any 
employment, paid or unpaid; educational; or any other activity during the hours hired to conduct child care 
services. 
 


Name of Caregiver (First/Middle/Last):__________________________________________________________ 


Print Aliases, Maiden Name, Previous Married Name(s):____________________________________________ 


Taxpayer Identification Number or Social Security Number: ________________________________       


Date of Birth:_______________________ 


Mailing Address:______________________________________  City: ___________________  Zip:________ 


Physical Address: _____________________________________ City: ____________________ Zip:________ 


Contact Phone Number: ______________________     Email address:_________________________________ 
 


Initial on the line at the beginning of each statement to indicate you have carefully read each statement below: 


____ As a Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) In-home caregiver, I understand that I am considered an 
employee of the family identified on this application.  The family must meet eligibility criteria and qualify for 
benefits for care to be authorized and paid through the CCAP. 
 
____ The parent of the family (employer) must pay me at least the Alaska minimum wage or the amount of the 
family’s CCAP benefits, whichever is more, for child care services I provide. Payment for care authorized and 
used, and any difference in the amount of program benefits and the Alaska minimum wage, will be made to me 
directly from the parent.  
 
____ I understand and agree child care services will be conducted in the above named family’s home and only 
for children of this family who reside in this home, except that I may bring my own child(ren) with approval 
from the family and as long as the total number of children in care is no more than five. 
 
____ I understand a fingerprint based criminal history check for me is required and the parent of the family 
must apply to the Alaska Background Check Program (BCP) and receive a valid criminal history check before I 
can be considered eligible. 
 
____I verify the parent of the family identified in this application has given me an IRS Form W-4 and a copy of 
Health and Safety Guidelines for In-Home Care. 
 
____ I verify I am not and will not engage in other employment, paid or unpaid; educational; or any other 
activity during the hours hired to conduct child care services. 
 
____ I understand the parent of the family identified in this application must provide me with a W-2 at the end 
of the year and if I have questions or concerns regarding my wages I must contact the Alaska Department of 
Labor, Wage and Hour.  For tax questions or concerns, I must contact the Internal Revenue Service. 
 
____ I have attached a copy of my qualifying (select the applicable):   high school diploma;   GED;  


 Equivalent to a high school diploma or GED __________________________________. 
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EMPLOYER / EMPLOYEE AGREEMENT: In completing this agreement, the Employer agrees to comply 
with all labor laws and tax requirements. The Employee agrees to contact the following agencies to help ensure 
compliance:  Internal Revenue Service, US Citizenship and Immigration Services, Child Support Services 
Division, and Alaska Department of Labor. Nothing in this form relieves the Employer of the 
responsibilities of complying with labor laws and tax requirements. This form summarizes requirements 
listed in State regulations at 7 AAC 41. I understand and agree to these terms. 
 


1. Payment for child care provided prior to the Child Care Assistance Program approval effective dates for 
both the family and the caregiver, are solely the Employer’s responsibility. 
  


2. Child care services will be provided only for the eligible children who live in the Employer’s home and care 
will be conducted at the Employer’s physical address as listed above. The selected Employee may not reside 
in the Employer’s home. 


 
3. The Employer agrees to pay the Employee the greater of: 


A. The actual child care assistance benefit amount which includes any applicable family contribution (co-
pay) as determined by the Child Care Assistance Program and special needs supplemental amount, if 
applicable, as determined by the Alaska Inclusive Child Care Program or 


B. The Alaska State minimum wage. 
 


4. Payment for child care services will be made by the Employer directly to the Employee on regular intervals 
and at least monthly.   


 
5. The Employer agrees to provide verification of payment to the Employee, if requested. If verification cannot 


be provided when requested, the Employer’s participation in the Child Care Assistance Program may be 
ended.  


 
6. The Employer understands it is their responsibility to submit the following forms to the applicable agency; 


ensure copies are retained on file; and any and all payments are made to the applicable agency in regard to 
the Employee as appropriate: 
a. IRS Form SS-4; 
b. IRS Form W-2 
c. IRS form W-4; 
d. USCIS I-9; 
e. Alaska Department of Labor Form TREG; and 
f. CSSD form 04-1050 Alaska New Hire Reporting. 


 
7. The Employer understands they must apply to the Alaska Background Check Program per 7 AAC 10.900 - 


7 AAC 10.990; complete the application process; obtain a valid criminal history check for the Employee; 
and complete the “hiring” process, before their caregiver can be approved by the Child Care Assistance 
Program. 
 


8. The Employer will submit requests for payment, signed by both the Employer and Employee, for care 
provided by the Employee, to the appropriate child care assistance office.  


 
9. The Employer will retain all records related to the attendance of children in care, employees, and requests 


for payment for a minimum of three years and will cooperate in the production of these records, in a timely 
manner, when requested by the department or designee. 


 
 
ON-SITE INSPECTION OR INVESTIGATION: You must cooperate with the Department for purposes of 
reviews, inspections, or investigations to determine compliance with the Child Care Assistance Program 
regulations 7 AAC 41, by allowing access to the premises, relevant records, and to children. Announced or 
unannounced inspections and investigations will be conducted during your listed hours of operation.   
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HOURS OF CHILD CARE SERVICES: The caregiver may not be engaged in any other employment, paid or 
unpaid; educational; or any other activity during the hours hired to conduct child care services as listed below. 
List the beginning and ending times of day, including a.m. and p.m. Ensure the hours “open” include time for 
you to travel from home to your eligible activity and from your eligible activity to your home. If you do not 
regularly need care on a specific day of the week you may either write “closed” or leave the box blank. If left 
blank it will be determined care is regularly not needed that day and care provided will not be authorized or 
paid. 
 


Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday 


_______am/pm  
to 
_______am/ pm 


 
_______am/pm  
to 
_______am/ pm 


 
_______am/pm  
to 
_______am/ pm 


 
_______am/pm  
to 
_______am/ pm 


 
_______am/pm  
to 
_______am/ pm 


 
_______am/pm  
to 
_______am/ pm 


 
_______am/pm  
to 
_______am/ pm 
 


 


SCHEDULED CLOSURES (such as holidays): List the days and/or dates, if any child care services will not be 
used.  If care is not needed on specific days of the week, include those above and not below: 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 


INCORRECT PAYMENT OF PROGRAM BENEFITS  
If you receive an overpayment of Public Assistance benefits or receive services to which you are not entitled, 
you may be financially responsible for repaying the overpayment or cost of services to the State of Alaska. This 
may be true even if the overpayment or improper authorization of services is due to an error on the part of the 
Department of Health and Social Services. By accepting payment of benefits or services, you must understand 
and agree that you may have a responsibility for the repayment of benefits or services to which you were not 
entitled.  
 


FRAUD PENALTY WARNINGS  
You may be prosecuted or otherwise sanctioned if you knowingly give false, incorrect or incomplete 
information to obtain or try to obtain Child Care Assistance Program payments you are not eligible for, or to 
help someone else obtain payments for which they are not eligible. If you are found to have committed an 
intentional program violation or are convicted of defrauding the Child Care Assistance Program, you may be 
disqualified from program participation and obligated to repay any amounts attributable to the intentional 
program violation or fraudulent act(s), in addition to any applicable criminal penalties. Nothing in this form 
relieves the Employer (parent) of the responsibilities of complying with labor laws and tax requirements. 
 


CERTIFICATION AND STATEMENT OF TRUTH 
Under penalty of perjury or unsworn falsification, I certify that the statements made on this application 
regarding myself and my selected caregiver are true and correct; and that I have read, or had read to me, and 
understand the information provided on this application. I have retained a copy of this application and the In-
home Child Care Parent Responsibilities on the In-home Child Care Application Coversheet. 


I understand that I am responsible for compliance with program rules and requirements, penalties and 
repayment of any overpayments. I further understand I will not receive any payment for child care services 
provided prior to the determination of my caregiver’s eligibility and issuance of approval on my In-home Child 
Care Application. 


_________________________________      __________________________________________    _________ 
Employer (Parent) Printed Name                   Employer (Parent) Signature                                           Date 
 
_________________________________      __________________________________________     _________ 
Employee (Caregiver) Printed Name             Employee (Caregiver) Signature                                      Date 
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IN-HOME CHILD CARE APPLICATION COVERSHEET 
 


All child care providers who participate in the Child Care Assistance Program must meet the eligibility 
and application requirements as outlined in 7 AAC 41. The complete regulations for the Child Care 
Assistance Program can be accessed at: http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare/default.aspx 
 
To be eligible to hire an In-home child care caregiver for the children of the family and participate in the 
Child Care Assistance Program, the parents of the family must be participating in an eligible activity 
outside the family’s home at the same time and require care for one of the following: 
 


  At least four children who are not in school at any time during the day, are otherwise eligible, and 
are not the children of the In-home child care caregiver; 


  At least one child with special needs; 
  At least one child who is younger than 12 months of age; or 
  At least one child, if all parents in the family are working a night shift. 


 
 
Child care services must be provided at the family’s physical address. The In-home caregiver may 
not reside in the family home. Retain a complete copy of the application and all documents submitted for 
your records. 


AGENCY NAME 


ADDRESS 


 


The following items must be submitted to the office listed above. 


Completed: 
    In-home Child Care Application CC40 
    Health and Safety Requirements for In-home    


         Care CC27 
    Approved Child Care Provider Disaster   


          Preparedness and Emergency Evacuation Plan   
          CC10  


    Alaska New Hire Reporting Form 04-1050 
    Alaska Employer Registration Form for Daycare 


Services form TREG (daycare) 
    In-home Child Care Parent/Caregiver Agreement 


CC18, if applicable 


Provide a copy of: 
  Your government issued photo identification     
  Your selected caregiver’s government issued  


       photo identification 
  Your selected caregiver’s valid pediatric   


       first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation  
       (CPR) certifications 


  Your selected caregiver’s proof of   
       qualifying education (high school diploma, 


General Educational Development (GED) 
diploma, or the equivalent 


 


The forms listed below must be completed and submitted to the applicable federal agency or completed as 
retained as identified on the form.  


    Form SS-4: Application for Employer Identification Number ; 
    Form I-9: Employment Eligibility Verification; 
    Form W-2: Wage and Tax Statement; and 
    Form W-4: Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate 



http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare/default.aspx
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ADDITIONALLY  


   As the employer of a child care caregiver, you must apply to the Alaska Background Check Program 
(BCP) to obtain a valid background check for your caregiver. 
      


   You and your caregiver must participate in an In-home Child Care Orientation. 
                                                                              


   You and your caregiver must participate in an interview. 
 


IMPORTANT INFORMATION 


In-home child care approval effective start dates are the first of the month following the receipt of: a 
complete application; valid criminal history for your selected caregiver; and participation in an 
Orientation. Your participation in the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP) must be renewed each time 
you renew CCAP participation as a family. 


Child care services provided prior to the caregiver’s or the family’s approval effective start date will not 
be paid by the CCAP.   


 


REQUIRED TRAINING 
Prior to approval or within three months of approval for program participation In-home caregivers must 
complete health and safety training on the following topics and provide a copy of their certificate: 


  Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including immunization); 
  Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and the use of safe sleeping practices; 
  Administration of medication; 
  Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions; 
  Building and physical premise safety, including the identification of and protection from   


       hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 
  Prevention of shaken baby syndrome, abusive head trauma and child maltreatment; 
  Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulting from a natural 
disaster; or a man-caused event (such as violence at a child care facility); 


  Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-contaminants;  
  Appropriate precautions in transporting children; 
  Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect, and 
  Minimum health and safety training. 


 
These trainings, with the exception of recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect are 
available through Better Kid Care by selecting “Health and Safety Basic: Requirements for 
Certification” at: http://extension.psu.edu/youth/betterkidcare/early-care/ccdbg.  
Training on recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect is available through the Office of 
Children’s Services at: http://dhss.alaska.gov/ocs/Pages/childrensjustice/mandatoryreporting.aspx. 
 
Upon approval for program participation, In-home caregivers must also complete 12 hours of 
professional development training annually. Training must reflect current research and best practices 
related to the skills necessary for the child care workforce to meet the development needs of 
participating children, improve the quality of, and stability within, the child care workforce. 
Professional development training must incorporate knowledge and application of Early Learning 
Development Guidelines; health and safety standards; and/or social-emotional behavior intervention 
models, which may include positive behavior intervention and support models. A copy of certificates 
or training transcripts must be provided to support hours of training completed. 
 
Failure to complete the required training within the timeframes described may result in a caregiver’s 
program participation ending.  
 



http://extension.psu.edu/youth/betterkidcare/early-care/ccdbg

http://dhss.alaska.gov/ocs/Pages/childrensjustice/mandatoryreporting.aspx






Note: Form SS-4 begins on the next page of this document.


Change to Fax-TIN Numbers
There is a change to the Instructions for Form SS-4 (Rev. February 2016). 
On page 2, under the "Where to File or Fax" table, the Fax-TIN numbers 
have changed.


If you have a principal place of 
business, office or agency, or  
legal residence in the case of  
an individual, located in:


File or Fax to:


One of the 50 states or the  
District of Columbia


Internal Revenue Service 
Attn: EIN Operation 
Cincinnati, OH 45999  
Fax: (855) 641-6935


If you have no legal residence, 
principal place of business, or 
principal office or agency, in any 
state:


Internal Revenue Service 
Attn: EIN Operation 
Cincinnati, OH 45999  
Fax: (855) 215-1627 (within the U.S.) 
Fax: (304) 707-9471 (outside the U.S.)


These changes will be included in the next revision of the Instructions for 
Form SS-4.







Form   SS-4
(Rev. January 2010)


Department of the Treasury  
Internal Revenue Service 


Application for Employer Identification Number
(For use by employers, corporations, partnerships, trusts, estates, churches, 
government agencies, Indian tribal entities, certain individuals, and others.)


▶ See separate instructions for each line. ▶ Keep a copy for your records.


OMB No. 1545-0003


EIN
T


yp
e 


o
r 


p
ri


nt
 c


le
ar


ly
.


1       Legal name of entity (or individual) for whom the EIN is being requested


2       Trade name of business (if different from name on line 1) 3      Executor, administrator, trustee, “care of” name


4a     Mailing address (room, apt., suite no. and street, or P.O. box) 5a    Street address (if different) (Do not enter a P.O. box.)


4b     City, state, and ZIP code (if foreign, see instructions) 5b    City, state, and ZIP code (if foreign, see instructions)


6       County and state where principal business is located


7a     Name of responsible party 7b    SSN, ITIN, or EIN


8a 


 


Is this application for a limited liability company (LLC) 
(or a foreign equivalent)? . . . . . . . . Yes No


8b If 8a is “Yes,” enter the number of 
LLC members . . . . . .  ▶


8c If 8a is “Yes,” was the LLC organized in the United States? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Yes No


9a Type of entity (check only one box). Caution. If 8a is “Yes,” see the instructions for the correct box to check.


Sole proprietor (SSN) Estate (SSN of decedent)


Partnership Plan administrator (TIN)


Corporation (enter form number to be filed)  ▶ Trust (TIN of grantor)


Personal service corporation National Guard State/local government


Church or church-controlled organization Farmers’ cooperative Federal government/military


Other nonprofit organization (specify)  ▶ REMIC Indian tribal governments/enterprises


Other (specify)  ▶ Group Exemption Number (GEN) if any  ▶


9b 


 


If a corporation, name the state or foreign country (if 
applicable) where incorporated


State Foreign country


10 Reason for applying (check only one box) Banking purpose (specify purpose) ▶


Started new business (specify type) ▶ Changed type of organization (specify new type) ▶


Purchased going business


Hired employees (Check the box and see line 13.) Created a trust (specify type) ▶


Compliance with IRS withholding regulations Created a pension plan (specify type) ▶


Other (specify) ▶


11 Date business started or acquired (month, day, year). See instructions. 12 Closing month of accounting year


13 
 


Highest number of employees expected in the next 12 months (enter -0- if none). 
If no employees expected, skip line 14.


Agricultural Household Other


14 If you expect your employment tax liability to be $1,000 or 
less in a full calendar year and want to file Form 944  
annually instead of Forms 941 quarterly, check here.  
(Your employment tax liability generally will be $1,000  
or less if you expect to pay $4,000 or less in total wages.)  
If you do not check this box, you must file Form 941 for  
every quarter.


15 First date wages or annuities were paid (month, day, year). Note. If applicant is a withholding agent, enter date income will first be paid to 
nonresident alien (month, day, year) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  ▶


16 Check one box that best describes the principal activity of your business. Health care & social assistance Wholesale-agent/broker


Construction Rental & leasing Transportation & warehousing Accommodation & food service Wholesale-other Retail


Real estate Manufacturing Finance & insurance Other (specify)  ▶


17 Indicate principal line of merchandise sold, specific construction work done, products produced, or services provided.


18 Has the applicant entity shown on line 1 ever applied for and received an EIN? Yes No


If “Yes,” write previous EIN here  ▶


Third  
Party 
Designee


Complete this section only if you want to authorize the named individual to receive the entity’s EIN and answer questions about the completion of this form.


Designee’s name Designee’s telephone number (include area code)


Address and ZIP code Designee’s fax number (include area code)


Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this application, and to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.


Name and title (type or print clearly) ▶


Applicant’s telephone number (include area code)


Signature  ▶ Date ▶


Applicant’s fax number (include area code)


For Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice, see separate instructions. Cat. No. 16055N Form SS-4 (Rev. 1-2010) 
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Do I Need an EIN?
File Form SS-4 if the applicant entity does not already have an EIN but is required to show an EIN on any return, statement,  
or other document.1 See also the separate instructions for each line on Form SS-4.


IF the applicant... AND... THEN...


Started a new business Does not currently have (nor expect to have)  
employees


Complete lines 1, 2, 4a–8a, 8b–c (if applicable), 9a,  
9b (if applicable), and 10–14 and 16–18.


Hired (or will hire) employees, 
including household employees


Does not already have an EIN Complete lines 1, 2, 4a–6, 7a–b (if applicable), 8a,  
8b–c (if applicable), 9a, 9b (if applicable), 10–18.


Opened a bank account Needs an EIN for banking purposes only Complete lines 1–5b, 7a–b (if applicable), 8a, 8b–c  
(if applicable), 9a, 9b (if applicable), 10, and 18.


Changed type of organization Either the legal character of the organization or its 
ownership changed (for example, you incorporate a 
sole proprietorship or form a partnership) 2


Complete lines 1–18 (as applicable).


Purchased a going business 3 Does not already have an EIN Complete lines 1–18 (as applicable).


Created a trust The trust is other than a grantor trust or an IRA  
trust 4


Complete lines 1–18 (as applicable).


Created a pension plan as a 
plan administrator  5


Needs an EIN for reporting purposes Complete lines 1, 3, 4a–5b, 9a, 10, and 18.


Is a foreign person needing an 
EIN to comply with IRS 
withholding regulations


Needs an EIN to complete a Form W-8 (other than  
Form W-8ECI), avoid withholding on portfolio assets,  
or claim tax treaty benefits 6


Complete lines 1–5b, 7a–b (SSN or ITIN optional),  
8a, 8b–c (if applicable), 9a, 9b (if applicable), 10,  
and 18.


Is administering an estate Needs an EIN to report estate income on Form 1041 Complete lines 1–6, 9a, 10–12, 13–17 (if applicable),  
and 18.


Is a withholding agent for  
taxes on non-wage income  
paid to an alien (i.e.,  
individual, corporation, or 
partnership, etc.)


Is an agent, broker, fiduciary, manager, tenant, or 
spouse who is required to file Form 1042, Annual 
Withholding Tax Return for U.S. Source Income of 
Foreign Persons


Complete lines 1, 2, 3 (if applicable), 4a–5b, 7a–b (if 
applicable), 8a, 8b–c (if applicable), 9a, 9b (if  
applicable), 10, and 18.


Is a state or local agency Serves as a tax reporting agent for public assistance 
recipients under Rev. Proc. 80-4, 1980-1 C.B. 581 7


Complete lines 1, 2, 4a–5b, 9a, 10, and 18.


Is a single-member LLC Needs an EIN to file Form 8832, Classification  
Election, for filing employment tax returns and  
excise tax returns, or for state reporting purposes 8


Complete lines 1–18 (as applicable).


Is an S corporation Needs an EIN to file Form 2553, Election by a Small 
Business Corporation 9


Complete lines 1–18 (as applicable).


1   For example, a sole proprietorship or self-employed farmer who establishes a qualified retirement plan, or is required to file excise, employment, alcohol, tobacco, or 
firearms returns, must have an EIN. A partnership, corporation, REMIC (real estate mortgage investment conduit), nonprofit organization (church, club, etc.), or farmers’ 
cooperative must use an EIN for any tax-related purpose even if the entity does not have employees. 


2  However, do not apply for a new EIN if the existing entity only (a) changed its business name, (b) elected on Form 8832 to change the way it is taxed (or is covered by the 
default rules), or (c) terminated its partnership status because at least 50% of the total interests in partnership capital and profits were sold or exchanged within a 12-
month period. The EIN of the terminated partnership should continue to be used. See Regulations section 301.6109-1(d)(2)(iii). 


3  Do not use the EIN of the prior business unless you became the “owner” of a corporation by acquiring its stock.
4  However, grantor trusts that do not file using Optional Method 1 and IRA trusts that are required to file Form 990-T, Exempt Organization Business Income Tax Return, 


must have an EIN. For more information on grantor trusts, see the Instructions for Form 1041. 
5  A plan administrator is the person or group of persons specified as the administrator by the instrument under which the plan is operated. 
6  Entities applying to be a Qualified Intermediary (QI) need a QI-EIN even if they already have an EIN. See Rev. Proc. 2000-12. 
7  See also Household employer on page 4 of the instructions. Note. State or local agencies may need an EIN for other reasons, for example, hired employees. 
8  See Disregarded entities on page 4 of the instructions for details on completing Form SS-4 for an LLC. 
9  An existing corporation that is electing or revoking S corporation status should use its previously-assigned EIN.








Attention: 
You may file Forms W-2 and W-3 electronically on the SSA’s Employer 
W-2 Filing Instructions and Information web page, which is also accessible 
at www.socialsecurity.gov/employer.  You can create fill-in versions of 
Forms W-2 and W-3 for filing with SSA. You may also print out copies for 
filing with state or local governments, distribution to your employees, and 
for your records.
Note: Copy A of this form is provided for informational purposes only. Copy A appears in 
red, similar to the official IRS form. The official printed version of this IRS form is scannable, 
but the online version of it, printed from this website, is not. Do not print and file Copy A 
downloaded from this website with the SSA; a penalty may be imposed for filing forms that 
can’t be scanned. See the penalties section in the current General Instructions for Forms 
W-2 and W-3, available at www.irs.gov/w2, for more information.


Please note that Copy B and other copies of this form, which appear in black, may be 
downloaded, filled in, and printed and used to satisfy the requirement to provide the 
information to the recipient.


To order official IRS information returns such as Forms W-2 and W-3, which include a 
scannable Copy A for filing, go to IRS’ Online Ordering for Information Returns and 
Employer Returns page, or visit www.irs.gov/orderforms and click on Employer and 
Information returns. We’ll mail you the scannable forms and any other products you order.


See IRS Publications 1141, 1167, and 1179 for more information about printing these tax 
forms.



http://www.socialsecurity.gov/employer

http://www.socialsecurity.gov/employer

http://www.socialsecurity.gov/employer

https://www.irs.gov/instructions/iw2w3/index.html

https://www.irs.gov/instructions/iw2w3/index.html

http://www.irs.gov/w2

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/page/0,,id=23108,00.html

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/page/0,,id=23108,00.html

http://www.irs.gov/orderforms

http://www.irs.gov/pub1141

http://www.irs.gov/pub1167

http://www.irs.gov/pub1179
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d  Control number


e  Employee’s first name and initial Last name Suff.


f  Employee’s address and ZIP code


1   Wages, tips, other compensation 2   Federal income tax withheld


3   Social security wages 4   Social security tax withheld


5   Medicare wages and tips 6   Medicare tax withheld
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9   Verification code 10   Dependent care benefits
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Do Not Cut, Fold, or Staple Forms on This Page
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Statement 2017


Department of the Treasury—Internal Revenue Service


Copy B—To Be Filed With Employee’s FEDERAL Tax Return. 
This information is being furnished to the Internal Revenue Service.







Notice to Employee
Do you have to file?  Refer to the Form 1040 instructions 
to determine if you are required to file a tax return.  Even 
if you don’t have to file a tax return, you may be eligible 
for a refund if box 2 shows an amount or if you are 
eligible for any credit. 
Earned income credit (EIC). You may be able to take the 
EIC for 2017 if your adjusted gross income (AGI) is less 
than a certain amount. The amount of the credit is based 
on income and family size. Workers without children 
could qualify for a smaller credit. You and any qualifying 
children must have valid social security numbers (SSNs). 
You can’t take the EIC if your investment income is more 
than the specified amount for 2017 or if income is earned 
for services provided while you were an inmate at a penal 
institution. For 2017 income limits and more information, 
visit www.irs.gov/eitc. Also see Pub. 596, Earned Income 
Credit. Any EIC that is more than your tax liability is 
refunded to you, but only if you file a tax return.
Clergy and religious workers. If you aren’t subject to 
social security and Medicare taxes, see Pub. 517, Social 
Security and Other Information for Members of the Clergy 
and Religious Workers.
Corrections. If your name, SSN, or address is incorrect, 
correct Copies B, C, and 2 and ask your employer to 
correct your employment record. Be sure to ask the 
employer to file Form W-2c, Corrected Wage and Tax 
Statement, with the Social Security Administration (SSA)  


to correct any name, SSN, or money amount error 
reported to the SSA on Form W-2. Be sure to get your 
copies of Form W-2c from your employer for all 
corrections made so you may file them with your tax 
return. If your name and SSN are correct but aren’t the 
same as shown on your social security card, you should 
ask for a new card that displays your correct name at any 
SSA office or by calling 1-800-772-1213. You also may 
visit the SSA at www.SSA.gov.
Cost of employer-sponsored health coverage (if such 
cost is provided by the employer). The reporting in box 
12, using code DD, of the cost of employer-sponsored 
health coverage is for your information only. The amount 
reported with code DD is not taxable.
Credit for excess taxes. If you had more than one 
employer in 2017 and more than $7,886.40 in social 
security and/or Tier 1 railroad retirement (RRTA) taxes 
were withheld, you may be able to claim a credit for the 
excess against your federal income tax. If you had more 
than one railroad employer and more than $4,630.50 in 
Tier 2 RRTA tax was withheld, you also may be able to 
claim a credit. See your Form 1040 or Form 1040A 
instructions and Pub. 505, Tax Withholding and 
Estimated Tax.
(Also see Instructions for Employee on the back of Copy C.)
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Instructions for Employee (Also see Notice to Employee, 
on the back of Copy B.)
Box 1. Enter this amount on the wages line of your tax return. 
Box 2. Enter this amount on the federal income tax withheld line of your tax 
return.


Box 5. You may be required to report this amount on Form 8959, Additional 
Medicare Tax. See the Form 1040 instructions to determine if you are 
required to complete Form 8959.
Box 6. This amount includes the 1.45% Medicare Tax withheld on all 
Medicare wages and tips shown in box 5, as well as the 0.9% Additional 
Medicare Tax on any of those Medicare wages and tips above $200,000.
Box 8. This amount is not included in boxes 1, 3, 5, or 7. For information on 
how to report tips on your tax return, see your Form 1040 instructions.


You must file Form 4137, Social Security and Medicare Tax on Unreported 
Tip Income, with your income tax return to report at least the allocated tip 
amount unless you can prove that you received a smaller amount. If you have 
records that show the actual amount of tips you received, report that amount 
even if it is more or less than the allocated tips. On Form 4137 you will 
calculate the social security and Medicare tax owed on the allocated tips 
shown on your Form(s) W-2 that you must report as income and on other tips 
you did not report to your employer.  By filing Form 4137, your social security 
tips will be credited to your social security record (used to figure your 
benefits).
Box 9. If you are e-filing and if there is a code in this box, enter it when 
prompted by your software. This code assists the IRS in validating the W-2 
data submitted with your return. The code is not entered on paper-filed 
returns.
Box 10. This amount includes the total dependent care benefits that your 
employer paid to you or incurred on your behalf (including amounts from a 
section 125 (cafeteria) plan). Any amount over $5,000 is also included in box 
1. Complete Form 2441, Child and Dependent Care Expenses, to compute 
any taxable and nontaxable amounts.
Box 11. This amount is (a) reported in box 1 if it is a distribution made to you 
from a nonqualified deferred compensation or nongovernmental section 
457(b) plan, or (b) included in box 3 and/or 5 if it is a prior year deferral under 
a nonqualified or section 457(b) plan that became taxable for social security 


and Medicare taxes this year because there is no longer a substantial risk of 
forfeiture of your right to the deferred amount. This box shouldn’t be used if 
you had a deferral and a distribution in the same calendar year. If you made a 
deferral and received a distribution in the same calendar year, and you are or 
will be age 62 by the end of the calendar year, your employer should file 
Form SSA-131, Employer Report of Special Wage Payments, with the Social 
Security Administration and give you a copy.
Box 12. The following list explains the codes shown in box 12. You may 
need this information to complete your tax return. Elective deferrals (codes 
D, E, F, and S) and designated Roth contributions (codes AA, BB, and EE) 
under all plans are generally limited to a total of $18,000 ($12,500 if you only 
have SIMPLE plans;  $21,000 for section 403(b) plans if you qualify for the 
15-year rule explained in Pub. 571). Deferrals under code G are limited to 
$18,000. Deferrals under code H are limited to $7,000.


However, if you were at least age 50 in 2017, your employer may have 
allowed an additional deferral of up to $6,000 ($3,000 for section 401(k)(11) 
and 408(p) SIMPLE plans). This additional deferral amount is not subject to 
the overall limit on elective deferrals. For code G, the limit on elective 
deferrals may be higher for the last 3 years before you reach retirement age. 
Contact your plan administrator for more information. Amounts in excess of 
the overall elective deferral limit must be included in income. See the 
“Wages, Salaries, Tips, etc.” line instructions for Form 1040.
Note: If a year follows code D through H, S, Y, AA, BB, or EE, you made a 
make-up pension contribution for a prior year(s) when you were in military 
service. To figure whether you made excess deferrals, consider these 
amounts for the year shown, not the current year. If no year is shown, the 
contributions are for the current year.
A—Uncollected social security or RRTA tax on tips. Include this tax on Form 
1040. See “Other Taxes” in the Form 1040 instructions.
B—Uncollected Medicare tax on tips. Include this tax on Form 1040. See 
“Other Taxes” in the Form 1040 instructions.
C—Taxable cost of group-term life insurance over $50,000 (included in boxes 
1, 3 (up to social security wage base), and 5)
D—Elective deferrals to a section 401(k) cash or deferred arrangement. Also 
includes deferrals under a SIMPLE retirement account that is part of a 
section 401(k) arrangement.
E—Elective deferrals under a section 403(b) salary reduction agreement


(continued on back of Copy 2)
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Instructions for Employee (continued from back of 
Copy C)
F—Elective deferrals under a section 408(k)(6) salary reduction SEP


G—Elective deferrals and employer contributions (including nonelective 
deferrals) to a section 457(b) deferred compensation plan


H—Elective deferrals to a section 501(c)(18)(D) tax-exempt organization 
plan. See “Adjusted Gross Income” in the Form 1040 instructions for 
how to deduct.


J—Nontaxable sick pay (information only, not included in boxes 1, 3, or 
5)


K—20% excise tax on excess golden parachute payments. See “Other 
Taxes” in the Form 1040 instructions.


L—Substantiated employee business expense reimbursements 
(nontaxable)


M—Uncollected social security or RRTA tax on taxable cost of group-
term life insurance over $50,000 (former employees only). See “Other 
Taxes” in the Form 1040 instructions.


N—Uncollected Medicare tax on taxable cost of group-term life 
insurance over $50,000 (former employees only). See “Other Taxes” in 
the Form 1040 instructions.


P—Excludable moving expense reimbursements paid directly to 
employee (not included in boxes 1, 3, or 5)


Q—Nontaxable combat pay. See the instructions for Form 1040 or Form 
1040A for details on reporting this amount.


R—Employer contributions to your Archer MSA. Report on Form 8853, 
Archer MSAs and Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts.


S—Employee salary reduction contributions under a section 408(p) 
SIMPLE plan (not included in box 1)


T—Adoption benefits (not included in box 1). Complete Form 8839, 
Qualified Adoption Expenses, to compute any taxable and nontaxable 
amounts.


V—Income from exercise of nonstatutory stock option(s) (included in 
boxes 1, 3 (up to social security wage base), and 5). See Pub. 525, 
Taxable and Nontaxable Income, for reporting requirements.


W—Employer contributions (including amounts the employee elected to 
contribute using a section 125 (cafeteria) plan) to your health savings 
account. Report on Form 8889, Health Savings Accounts (HSAs).


Y—Deferrals under a section 409A nonqualified deferred compensation 
plan


Z—Income under a nonqualified deferred compensation plan that fails 
to satisfy section 409A. This amount is also included in box 1. It is 
subject to an additional 20% tax plus interest. See “Other Taxes” in the 
Form 1040 instructions.


AA—Designated Roth contributions under a section 401(k) plan


BB—Designated Roth contributions under a section 403(b) plan


DD—Cost of employer-sponsored health coverage. The amount 
reported with Code DD is not taxable.


EE—Designated Roth contributions under a governmental section 
457(b) plan. This amount does not apply to contributions under a tax-
exempt organization section 457(b) plan.


FF—Permitted benefits under a qualified small employer health 
reimbursement arrangement


Box 13. If the “Retirement plan” box is checked, special limits may apply 
to the amount of traditional IRA contributions you may deduct. See   
Pub. 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs).


Box 14. Employers may use this box to report information such as state 
disability insurance taxes withheld, union dues, uniform payments, 
health insurance premiums deducted, nontaxable income, educational 
assistance payments, or a member of the clergy's parsonage allowance 
and utilities. Railroad employers use this box to report railroad 
retirement (RRTA) compensation, Tier 1 tax, Tier 2 tax, Medicare tax and 
Additional Medicare Tax. Include tips reported by the employee to the 
employer in railroad retirement (RRTA) compensation.


Note: Keep Copy C of Form W-2 for at least 3 years after the due date 
for filing your income tax return. However, to help protect your social 
security benefits, keep Copy C until you begin receiving social security 
benefits, just in case there is a question about your work record and/or 
earnings in a particular year. 







     


Void
a  Employee’s social security number


OMB No. 1545-0008 


b  Employer identification number (EIN)


c  Employer’s name, address, and ZIP code


d  Control number


e  Employee’s first name and initial Last name Suff.


f  Employee’s address and ZIP code


1   Wages, tips, other compensation 2   Federal income tax withheld


3   Social security wages 4   Social security tax withheld


5   Medicare wages and tips 6   Medicare tax withheld


7   Social security tips 8   Allocated tips


9   Verification code 10   Dependent care benefits


11   Nonqualified plans 12a  See instructions for box 12
C
o 
d 
e


12b
C
o 
d 
e


12c
C
o 
d 
e


12d
C
o 
d 
e


13 Statutory 
employee


Retirement 
plan


Third-party 
sick pay


14  Other


15  State Employer’s state ID number 16  State wages, tips, etc. 17  State income tax 18  Local wages, tips, etc. 19  Local income tax 20  Locality name


Form W-2 Wage and Tax 
Statement 2017


Department of the Treasury—Internal Revenue Service 


For Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction 
Act Notice, see separate instructions.


Copy D — For Employer







Employers, Please Note—
Specific information needed to complete Form W-2 is available 
in a separate booklet titled the 2017 General Instructions for 
Forms W-2 and W-3. You can order those instructions and 
additional forms at www.irs.gov/orderforms.


Caution: Do not send the SSA Forms W-2 and W-3 that you 
have printed from IRS.gov. The SSA is unable to process these 
forms. Instead, you can create and submit them online. See     
E-filing, later.


Due dates. By January 31, 2018, furnish Copies B, C, and 2 to 
each person who was your employee during 2017. Mail or 
electronically file Copy A of Form(s) W-2 and W-3 with the SSA 
by January 31, 2018. See the separate instructions.


Need help? If you have questions about reporting on Form W-2, 
call the information reporting customer service site toll free at 
1-866-455-7438 or 304-263-8700 (not toll free). For TTY/TDD 
equipment for persons who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a 
speech disability, call 304-579-4827 (not toll free). 


E-filing. If you file 250 or more Form(s) W-2, you must file 
electronically. Even if you aren’t required to file electronically, 
doing so can save you time and effort. Employers may now use 
the SSA's W-2 Online service to create, save, print, and submit 
up to 50 Form(s) W-2 at a time over the Internet. When you e-file 
with the SSA, no separate Form W-3 filing is required. An 
electronic Form W-3 will be created for you by the W-2 Online 
service. For information, visit the SSA's Employer W-2 Filing 
Instructions & Information website at www.SSA.gov/employer. 


Future developments. Information about any future 
developments affecting Form W-2 and its instructions (such as 
legislation enacted after we release them) will be posted at 
www.irs.gov/w2.








Form W-4 (2017)
Purpose. Complete Form W-4 so that your 
employer can withhold the correct federal income 
tax from your pay. Consider completing a new Form 
W-4 each year and when your personal or financial 
situation changes.
Exemption from withholding. If you are exempt, 
complete only lines 1, 2, 3, 4, and 7 and sign the 
form to validate it. Your exemption for 2017 expires 
February 15, 2018. See Pub. 505, Tax Withholding 
and Estimated Tax.
Note: If another person can claim you as a dependent 
on his or her tax return, you can’t claim exemption 
from withholding if your total income exceeds $1,050 
and includes more than $350 of unearned income (for 
example, interest and dividends).


Exceptions. An employee may be able to claim 
exemption from withholding even if the employee is 
a dependent, if the employee:
• Is age 65 or older,


• Is blind, or


• Will claim adjustments to income; tax credits; or 
itemized deductions, on his or her tax return.


The exceptions don’t apply to supplemental wages 
greater than $1,000,000.
Basic instructions. If you aren’t exempt, complete 
the Personal Allowances Worksheet below. The 
worksheets on page 2 further adjust your 
withholding allowances based on itemized 
deductions, certain credits, adjustments to income, 
or two-earners/multiple jobs situations. 


Complete all worksheets that apply. However, you 
may claim fewer (or zero) allowances. For regular 
wages, withholding must be based on allowances 
you claimed and may not be a flat amount or 
percentage of wages.
Head of household. Generally, you can claim head 
of household filing status on your tax return only if 
you are unmarried and pay more than 50% of the 
costs of keeping up a home for yourself and your 
dependent(s) or other qualifying individuals. See 
Pub. 501, Exemptions, Standard Deduction, and 
Filing Information, for information.
Tax credits. You can take projected tax credits into 
account in figuring your allowable number of 
withholding allowances. Credits for child or dependent 
care expenses and the child tax credit may be claimed 
using the Personal Allowances Worksheet below. 
See Pub. 505 for information on converting your other 
credits into withholding allowances.


Nonwage income. If you have a large amount of 
nonwage income, such as interest or dividends, 
consider making estimated tax payments using Form 
1040-ES, Estimated Tax for Individuals. Otherwise, 
you may owe additional tax. If you have pension or 
annuity income, see Pub. 505 to find out if you should 
adjust your withholding on Form W-4 or W-4P.
Two earners or multiple jobs. If you have a 
working spouse or more than one job, figure the 
total number of allowances you are entitled to claim 
on all jobs using worksheets from only one Form 
W-4. Your withholding usually will be most accurate 
when all allowances are claimed on the Form W-4 
for the highest paying job and zero allowances are 
claimed on the others. See Pub. 505 for details.
Nonresident alien. If you are a nonresident alien, see 
Notice 1392, Supplemental Form W-4 Instructions for 
Nonresident Aliens, before completing this form.
Check your withholding. After your Form W-4 takes 
effect, use Pub. 505 to see how the amount you are 
having withheld compares to your projected total tax 
for 2017. See Pub. 505, especially if your earnings 
exceed $130,000 (Single) or $180,000 (Married).
Future developments. Information about any future 
developments affecting Form W-4 (such as 
legislation enacted after we release it) will be posted 
at www.irs.gov/w4.


Personal Allowances Worksheet (Keep for your records.)
A Enter “1” for yourself if no one else can claim you as a dependent . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . A


B Enter “1” if: { • You’re single and have only one job; or
• You’re married, have only one job, and your spouse doesn’t work; or                                       . . .
• Your wages from a second job or your spouse’s wages (or the total of both) are $1,500 or less.


} B


C Enter “1” for your spouse. But, you may choose to enter “-0-” if you are married and have either a working spouse or more 
than one job. (Entering “-0-” may help you avoid having too little tax withheld.) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . C


D Enter number of dependents (other than your spouse or yourself) you will claim on your tax return . . . . . . . . D
E Enter “1” if you will file as head of household on your tax return (see conditions under Head of household above) . . E
F Enter “1” if you have at least $2,000 of child or dependent care expenses for which you plan to claim a credit . . . F


(Note: Do not include child support payments. See Pub. 503, Child and Dependent Care Expenses, for details.) 
G Child Tax Credit (including additional child tax credit). See Pub. 972, Child Tax Credit, for more information.


• If your total income will be less than $70,000 ($100,000 if married), enter “2” for each eligible child; then less “1” if you                      
have two to four eligible children or less “2” if you have five or more eligible children. 
• If your total income will be between $70,000 and $84,000 ($100,000 and $119,000 if married), enter “1” for each eligible child. G


H Add lines A through G and enter total here. (Note: This may be different from the number of exemptions you claim on your tax return.)  ▶ H


For accuracy, 
complete all 
worksheets 
that apply. {


• If you plan to itemize or claim adjustments to income and want to reduce your withholding, see the Deductions 
and Adjustments Worksheet on page 2.  
• If you are single and have more than one job or are married and you and your spouse both work and the combined 
earnings from all jobs exceed $50,000 ($20,000 if married), see the Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet on page 2  
to avoid having too little tax withheld.
• If neither of the above situations applies, stop here and enter the number from line H on line 5 of Form W-4 below.


Separate here and give Form W-4 to your employer. Keep the top part for your records.


Form   W-4
Department of the Treasury  
Internal Revenue Service 


Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate
▶  Whether you are entitled to claim a certain number of allowances or exemption from withholding is 


subject to review by the IRS. Your employer may be required to send a copy of this form to the IRS. 


OMB No. 1545-0074


2017
1        Your first name and middle initial Last name


Home address (number and street or rural route)


City or town, state, and ZIP code


2     Your social security number


3 Single Married Married, but withhold at higher Single rate.


Note:  If married, but legally separated, or spouse is a nonresident alien, check the “Single” box.


4 If your last name differs from that shown on your social security card, 


check here. You must call 1-800-772-1213 for a replacement card.  ▶


5 Total number of allowances you are claiming (from line H above or from the applicable worksheet on page 2) 5
6 Additional amount, if any, you want withheld from each paycheck . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6 $


7 I claim exemption from withholding for 2017, and I certify that I meet both of the following conditions for exemption.
• Last year I had a right to a refund of all federal income tax withheld because I had no tax liability, and
• This year I expect a refund of all federal income tax withheld because I expect to have no tax liability.
If you meet both conditions, write “Exempt” here . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .   ▶ 7


Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this certificate and, to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete.


Employee’s signature  
(This form is not valid unless you sign it.)  ▶ Date ▶


8        Employer’s name and address (Employer: Complete lines 8 and 10 only if sending to the IRS.) 9  Office code (optional) 10     Employer identification number (EIN)


For Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice, see page 2. Cat. No. 10220Q Form W-4 (2017) 







Form W-4 (2017) Page 2 
Deductions and Adjustments Worksheet


Note: Use this worksheet only if you plan to itemize deductions or claim certain credits or adjustments to income.
1 Enter an estimate of your 2017 itemized deductions. These include qualifying home mortgage interest, charitable contributions, state 


and local taxes, medical expenses in excess of 10% of your income, and miscellaneous deductions. For 2017, you may have to reduce 
your itemized deductions if your income is over $313,800 and you’re married filing jointly or you’re a qualifying widow(er); $287,650 
if you’re head of household; $261,500 if you’re single, not head of household and not a qualifying widow(er); or $156,900 if you’re 
married filing separately. See Pub. 505 for details . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 1 $


2 Enter: { $12,700 if married filing jointly or qualifying widow(er)
$9,350 if head of household                                               . . . . . . . . . . .
$6,350 if single or married filing separately


} 2 $


3 Subtract line 2 from line 1. If zero or less, enter “-0-” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 $
4 Enter an estimate of your 2017 adjustments to income and any additional standard deduction (see Pub. 505) 4 $
5 Add lines 3 and 4 and enter the total. (Include any amount for credits from the Converting Credits to 


Withholding Allowances for 2017 Form W-4 worksheet in Pub. 505.) . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 $
6 Enter an estimate of your 2017 nonwage income (such as dividends or interest) . . . . . . . . 6 $
7 Subtract line 6 from line 5. If zero or less, enter “-0-” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 $
8 Divide the amount on line 7 by $4,050 and enter the result here. Drop any fraction . . . . . . . 8
9 Enter the number from the Personal Allowances Worksheet, line H, page 1 . . . . . . . . . 9


10 Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the total here. If you plan to use the Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet, 
also enter this total on line 1 below. Otherwise, stop here and enter this total on Form W-4, line 5, page 1 10


Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet (See Two earners or multiple jobs on page 1.)
Note: Use this worksheet only if the instructions under line H on page 1 direct you here.
1 Enter the number from line H, page 1 (or from line 10 above if you used the Deductions and Adjustments Worksheet) 1
2 Find the number in Table 1 below that applies to the LOWEST paying job and enter it here. However, if 


you are married filing jointly and wages from the highest paying job are $65,000 or less, do not enter more 
than “3” . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2


3 If line 1 is more than or equal to line 2, subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter the result here (if zero, enter 
“-0-”) and on Form W-4, line 5, page 1. Do not use the rest of this worksheet . . . . . . . . . 3


Note: If line 1 is less than line 2, enter “-0-” on Form W-4, line 5, page 1. Complete lines 4 through 9 below to     
figure the additional withholding amount necessary to avoid a year-end tax bill.


4 Enter the number from line 2 of this worksheet . . . . . . . . . . 4
5 Enter the number from line 1 of this worksheet . . . . . . . . . . 5
6 Subtract line 5 from line 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6
7 Find the amount in Table 2 below that applies to the HIGHEST paying job and enter it here . . . . 7 $
8 Multiply line 7 by line 6 and enter the result here. This is the additional annual withholding needed . . 8 $
9 Divide line 8 by the number of pay periods remaining in 2017. For example, divide by 25 if you are paid every two 


weeks and you complete this form on a date in January when there are 25 pay periods remaining in 2017. Enter 
the result here and on Form W-4, line 6, page 1. This is the additional amount to be withheld from each paycheck 9 $


Table 1
Married Filing Jointly


If wages from LOWEST 
paying job are—


Enter on  
line 2 above


 $0  -    $7,000 0
7,001  -    14,000   1


14,001  -    22,000 2
22,001  -    27,000 3
27,001  -    35,000 4
35,001  -    44,000 5
44,001  -    55,000 6
55,001  -    65,000 7
65,001  -    75,000 8
75,001  -    80,000 9
80,001  -    95,000 10


 95,001  -  115,000  11
115,001  -  130,000  12
130,001  -  140,000  13
140,001  -  150,000  14
150,001 and over 15


All Others


If wages from LOWEST 
paying job are—


Enter on  
line 2 above


 $0  -    $8,000 0
8,001  -    16,000   1


16,001  -    26,000 2
26,001  -    34,000 3
34,001  -    44,000 4
44,001  -    70,000 5
70,001  -    85,000 6
85,001  -  110,000 7


110,001  -  125,000  8
125,001  -  140,000  9
140,001 and over 10


Table 2
Married Filing Jointly


If wages from HIGHEST 
paying job are—


Enter on  
line 7 above


 $0  -  $75,000         $610
75,001  -  135,000 1,010


135,001  -  205,000  1,130
205,001  -  360,000  1,340
360,001  -  405,000  1,420
405,001 and over 1,600


All Others


If wages from HIGHEST 
paying job are—


Enter on  
line 7 above


 $0  -  $38,000 $610
38,001  -    85,000 1,010
85,001  -  185,000 1,130


185,001  -  400,000  1,340
400,001 and over 1,600


Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice. We ask for the information on this form 
to carry out the Internal Revenue laws of the United States. Internal Revenue Code sections 
3402(f)(2) and 6109 and their regulations require you to provide this information; your employer 
uses it to determine your federal income tax withholding. Failure to provide a properly 
completed form will result in your being treated as a single person who claims no withholding 
allowances; providing fraudulent information may subject you to penalties. Routine uses of 
this information include giving it to the Department of Justice for civil and criminal litigation; to 
cities, states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. commonwealths and possessions for use in 
administering their tax laws; and to the Department of Health and Human Services for use in 
the National Directory of New Hires. We may also disclose this information to other countries 
under a tax treaty, to federal and state agencies to enforce federal nontax criminal laws, or to 
federal law enforcement and intelligence agencies to combat terrorism.


You are not required to provide the information requested on a form that is 
subject to the Paperwork Reduction Act unless the form displays a valid OMB 
control number. Books or records relating to a form or its instructions must be 
retained as long as their contents may become material in the administration of 
any Internal Revenue law. Generally, tax returns and return information are 
confidential, as required by Code section 6103. 


The average time and expenses required to complete and file this form will vary 
depending on individual circumstances. For estimated averages, see the 
instructions for your income tax return.


If you have suggestions for making this form simpler, we would be happy to hear 
from you. See the instructions for your income tax return.








 


  
 


 


     
      


 


USCIS 
Form I-9 


OMB No. 1615-0047 
Expires 08/31/2019 


Employment Eligibility Verification 
Department of Homeland Security 


U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services 


►START HERE: Read instructions carefully before completing this form. The instructions must be available, either in paper or electronically, 
during completion of this form. Employers are liable for errors in the completion of this form. 


ANTI-DISCRIMINATION NOTICE: It is illegal to discriminate against work-authorized individuals. Employers CANNOT specify which 
document(s) an employee may present to establish employment authorization and identity. The refusal to hire or continue to employ 
an individual because the documentation presented has a future expiration date may also constitute illegal discrimination. 


Section 1. Employee Information and Attestation (Employees must complete and sign Section 1 of Form I-9 no later 
than the first day of employment, but not before accepting a job offer.) 
Last Name (Family Name) First Name (Given Name) Middle Initial Other Last Names Used (if any) 


StateAddress (Street Number and Name) Apt. Number City or Town ZIP Code 


Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) U.S. Social Security Number 


- -


Employee's E-mail Address Employee's Telephone Number 


I am aware that federal law provides for imprisonment and/or fines for false statements or use of false documents in 
connection with the completion of this form. 
I attest, under penalty of perjury, that I am (check one of the following boxes): 


1. A citizen of the United States 


2. A noncitizen national of the United States (See instructions) 


3. A lawful permanent resident (Alien Registration Number/USCIS Number): 


4. An alien authorized to work until (expiration date, if applicable, mm/dd/yyyy): 
Some aliens may write "N/A" in the expiration date field. (See instructions) 


Aliens authorized to work must provide only one of the following document numbers to complete Form I-9: 
An Alien Registration Number/USCIS Number OR Form I-94 Admission Number OR Foreign Passport Number. 


1. Alien Registration Number/USCIS Number: 
OR 


2. Form I-94 Admission Number: 
OR 


3. Foreign Passport Number: 


Country of Issuance: 


QR Code - Section 1 
Do Not Write In This Space 


Signature of Employee Today's Date (mm/dd/yyyy) 


Preparer and/or Translator Certification (check one): 
I did not use a preparer or translator.  A preparer(s) and/or translator(s) assisted the employee in completing Section 1. 


(Fields below must be completed and signed when preparers and/or translators assist an employee in completing Section 1.) 
I attest, under penalty of perjury, that I have assisted in the completion of Section 1 of this form and that to the best of my 
knowledge the information is true and correct. 
Signature of Preparer or Translator Today's Date (mm/dd/yyyy) 


Last Name (Family Name) First Name (Given Name) 


Address (Street Number and Name) City or Town State ZIP Code 


Employer Completes Next Page 
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Employment Eligibility Verification USCIS 

Form I-9
Department of Homeland Security 


OMB No. 1615-0047
U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Expires 08/31/2019 


Section 2. Employer or Authorized Representative Review and Verification 
(Employers or their authorized representative must complete and sign Section 2 within 3 business days of the employee's first day of employment. You 
must physically examine one document from List A OR a combination of one document from List B and one document from List C as listed on the "Lists 
of Acceptable Documents.") 


Employee Info from Section 1 Last Name (Family Name) First Name (Given Name) M.I. Citizenship/Immigration Status 


List A OR List B AND List C 
Identity and Employment Authorization Identity Employment Authorization 


Additional Information QR Code - Sections 2 & 3 
Do Not Write In This Space 


Document Title 


Issuing Authority 


Document Number 


Expiration Date (if any)(mm/dd/yyyy) 


Document Title 


Issuing Authority 


Document Number 


Expiration Date (if any)(mm/dd/yyyy) 


Document Title 


Issuing Authority 


Document Number 


Expiration Date (if any)(mm/dd/yyyy) 


Document Title 


Issuing Authority 


Document Number 


Expiration Date (if any)(mm/dd/yyyy) 


Document Title 


Issuing Authority 


Document Number 


Expiration Date (if any)(mm/dd/yyyy) 


Certification: I attest, under penalty of perjury, that (1) I have examined the document(s) presented by the above-named employee, 
(2) the above-listed document(s) appear to be genuine and to relate to the employee named, and (3) to the best of my knowledge the 
employee is authorized to work in the United States. 
The employee's first day of employment (mm/dd/yyyy):  (See instructions for exemptions) 


Signature of Employer or Authorized Representative Today's Date(mm/dd/yyyy) Title of Employer or Authorized Representative 


Last Name of Employer or Authorized Representative First Name of Employer or Authorized Representative Employer's Business or Organization Name 


Employer's Business or Organization Address (Street Number and Name) City or Town State ZIP Code 


Section 3. Reverification and Rehires (To be completed and signed by employer or authorized representative.) 
A. New Name (if applicable) B. Date of Rehire (if applicable) 
Last Name (Family Name) First Name (Given Name) Middle Initial Date (mm/dd/yyyy) 


C. If the employee's previous grant of employment authorization has expired, provide the information for the document or receipt that establishes 
continuing employment authorization in the space provided below. 


Document Title Document Number Expiration Date (if any) (mm/dd/yyyy) 


I attest, under penalty of perjury, that to the best of my knowledge, this employee is authorized to work in the United States, and if 
the employee presented document(s), the document(s) I have examined appear to be genuine and to relate to the individual. 
Signature of Employer or Authorized Representative Today's Date (mm/dd/yyyy) Name of Employer or Authorized Representative 
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LISTS OF ACCEPTABLE DOCUMENTS
 
All documents must be UNEXPIRED
 


Employees may present one selection from List A 

or a combination of one selection from List B and one selection from List C.
 


LIST A LIST B LIST C 
Documents that Establish Documents that Establish Documents that Establish 


Both Identity and Identity Employment Authorization 
Employment Authorization OR AND 


1. U.S. Passport or U.S. Passport Card 1. Driver's license or ID card issued by a 
State or outlying possession of the 
United States provided it contains a 
photograph or information such as 
name, date of birth, gender, height, eye 
color, and address 


1. A Social Security Account Number 
card, unless the card includes one of 
the following restrictions: 
(1) NOT VALID FOR EMPLOYMENT 


(2) VALID FOR WORK ONLY WITH 
INS AUTHORIZATION 


(3) VALID FOR WORK ONLY WITH 
DHS AUTHORIZATION 


2. Permanent Resident Card or Alien 
Registration Receipt Card (Form I-551) 


3. Foreign passport that contains a 
temporary I-551 stamp or temporary 
I-551 printed notation on a machine-
readable immigrant visa 


2. ID card issued by federal, state or local 
government agencies or entities, 
provided it contains a photograph or 
information such as name, date of birth, 
gender, height, eye color, and address 


4. Employment Authorization Document 
that contains a photograph (Form 
I-766) 


2. Certification of Birth Abroad issued 
by the Department of State (Form 
FS-545) 


3. School ID card with a photograph 3. Certification of Report of Birth 
issued by the Department of State 
(Form DS-1350) 


5. For a nonimmigrant alien authorized 
to work for a specific employer 
because of his or her status: 


a. Foreign passport; and 
b. Form I-94 or Form I-94A that has 


the following: 
(1) The same name as the passport; 


and 
(2) An endorsement of the alien's 


nonimmigrant status as long as 
that period of endorsement has 
not yet expired and the 
proposed employment is not in 
conflict with any restrictions or 
limitations identified on the form. 


4.  Voter's registration card 


5.  U.S. Military card or draft record 
4.  Original or certified copy of birth 


certificate issued by a State, 
county, municipal authority, or 
territory of the United States 
bearing an official seal 


6. Military dependent's ID card 


7. U.S. Coast Guard Merchant Mariner 
Card 


8.  Native American tribal document 5.  Native American tribal document 
9. Driver's license issued by a Canadian 


government authority 
6.  U.S. Citizen ID Card (Form I-197) 


7. Identification Card for Use of 
Resident Citizen in the United 
States (Form I-179) 


For persons under age 18 who are 
unable to present a document 


listed above: 
8. Employment authorization 


document issued by the 
Department of Homeland Security 


6. Passport from the Federated States of 
Micronesia (FSM) or the Republic of 
the Marshall Islands (RMI) with Form 
I-94 or Form I-94A indicating 
nonimmigrant admission under the 
Compact of Free Association Between 
the United States and the FSM or RMI 


10. School record or report card 


11.  Clinic, doctor, or hospital record 


12. Day-care or nursery school record 


Examples of many of these documents appear in Part 8 of the Handbook for Employers (M-274). 


Refer to the instructions for more information about acceptable receipts. 
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