Sign In
Skip to content
Help us improve our website by providing your valuable feedback

Assessment Unit

What does the Assessment Unit Do?


The State of Alaska offers a variety of program options and choices to applicants. The SDS Assessment Unit is responsible for the assessment and level of care determinations of initial waiver applicants and annual renewals of waiver participants for these waiver types:

  • Adults Living Independently (ALI)
  • Adults with Physical and Developmental Disabilities (APDD)
  • Children with Complex Medical Conditions (CCMC)


These waiver programs offer a choice between home and community-based services and institutional care for people who meet a nursing facility level of care (NFLOC). In order to access one of these waiver programs, a person must meet 1) Medicaid eligibility requirements for income and resource limits, as found through an interview and application process with the Division of Public Assistance (DPA), and 2) level of care requirements, as assessed and determined by the SDS Assessment Unit. Intake Unit assessors (nurses or other trained professionals) conduct a functional assessment via in person interviews or by using videoconferencing technology. The results of each assessment are reviewed by a nurse supervisor to affirm the assessor’s NFLOC determination and each applicant or participant is provided with a copy of findings of the level of care determination and the assessment.

  • The ALI Waiver is available to adults age 21 and over who would otherwise require a level of care provided in a nursing facility
  • The APDD waiver is available to persons age 21 and over who have been determined to be Developmentally Disabled through an assessment process conducted by the SDS Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Unit, but who have nursing needs that would otherwise be provided in a nursing facility.
  • The Child with Complex Medical Conditions (CCMC) waiver serves children and young adults under the age of 22 years who experience medical fragility and are often dependent on frequent life-saving treatments or interventions and/ or are dependent on medical technology. These children would otherwise be require a level of care provided in an acute care hospital or a nursing facility.

Once determined eligible for a waiver, many services, including things like respite care, chore, residential living, care coordination, environmental modifications, are agreed upon by a participant’s planning team and are approved by SDS via a support plan submitted by the participant’s care coordinator.

Other Programs You May Be Interested In

Personal Care Services (PCS) and Community First Choice Personal Care Services (CFC PCS) provide support related to an individual’s activities of daily living (i.e. bathing, dressing, eating) as well as instrumental activities of daily living (i.e. shopping, laundry, light housework). CFC PCS can also include time for supervision and cuing, and skills acquisition, depending on the findings of the CAT. PCS and CFC PCS are provided statewide in Alaska through certified agencies.

Grants Services – This service assists families and individuals experiencing Intellectual and developmental disabilities, dementia and related disorders, family caregivers of seniors aged 60 and over, grandparents raising grandchildren aged 55 or over, seniors aged 60 and over or frail/disabled seniors in need of assistance in the home.

Other Important Links

CCMC or APDD waiver recipient with Developmental Disabilities

Sign up for Direct Secure Messaging with Inpriva, through HealtheConnect Alaska.

Anchorage Office
1835 Bragaw Street, Suite 350
Anchorage, AK 99508
Tel: 907-269-3666
Fax: 907-269-3689
Toll Free: 1-800-478-9996