Resources

Tobacco Enforcement Resources

Reports

Annual Synar Reports

Contact

Tobacco Youth Education & Enforcement Program

3601 C Street, Suite 878
Anchorage, Alaska 99503
Phone: 907-269-3600
Fax: 907-269-3623

Tobacco Enforcement & Youth Education Program

The primary goal of the State’s Tobacco Enforcement program is to decrease youth access to tobacco.

State Investigators work closely with businesses and community organizations to ensure compliance with local, state, and federal tobacco control laws. Tobacco Enforcement Investigators also ensure compliance and enforce the laws prohibiting the sale and distribution of tobacco products to minors. The State’s Tobacco Enforcement program is committed to protecting children from the risk of smoking by reducing youth access to tobacco products.

This is accomplished through:

  1. Enforcement of Alaska’s tobacco law’s to obtain retailer compliance.
  2. Educating tobacco store owners, clerks, tobacco distributors, community members and police officers.
  3. Partnering with other state agencies.
  4. Partnering with Tobacco Control Community grantees.

These activities are conducted by State Tobacco Enforcement Investigators.

Retailers who violate the law face serious Penalties. They can be fined, and if convicted, their authorization to sell can be suspended.

The Tobacco Enforcement Program is headed by Chief Investigator Joe Darnell.

For additional information, or to report the unlawful sale of tobacco to a person under 19 years of age or other unlawful tobacco sales practices, contact:

State of Alaska
Tobacco Enforcement Program
P.O. Box 110620
Juneau, AK 99811
HSS.DBH.Tobacco@Alaska.Gov


Vendors are recommended to follow both the Alaska law and the Federal Tobacco 21 law.

The federal law is enforced by the Food and Drug Administration.
How to report potential violations:
Online: https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/ptvr/index.cfm
87
7-287-1373
CTPComplianve@FDA.hss.gov


Please note that if HB 110 is signed into law the above information will be updated to reflect the changes laid out in the statute. 


Tobacco Retail Information 

Information for Tobacco Product Retailers 

Federal law and policy affect tobacco product retailers in Alaska. To keep Alaskans informed, this page is updated with the most current information. 

Tobacco 21: Age to Purchase Tobacco Products 

The Alaska Business Licensing Act, located at Title 43, chapter 70 of the Alaska Statutes, requires a business license endorsement for each location where tobacco products, electronic smoking products, or nicotine products are sold. This used to be known as a “tobacco endorsement.” The Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business, & Professional Licensing issues endorsements to businesses.  

On December 20, 2019, federal law was changed to raise the legal age to purchase tobacco products to age 21.  

After reviewing the federal law, the Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development determined that: “The minimum age to buy tobacco products, electronic smoking devices, or products containing nicotine is now 21; it is unlawful for any retailer to sell tobacco products, electronic smoking products, or products containing nicotine to any person younger than 21 years of age,” even though Alaska state law lists the minimum age as 19.  

This determination and other helpful information about business licensing requirements and tobacco sales can be found at the  Business Licensing - Endorsement frequently asked questions (FAQs) page.

​​