Sign In
Skip to content
Help us improve our website by providing your valuable feedback
Kodiak Panoramic photo 

Health Facilities Licensing & Certification

May 15, 2023 - NEW: Subacute (Crisis Center) Requirements
Last year, House Bill 172 added “subacute mental health facilities” (which include crisis stabilization and crisis residential centers) to the types of entities licensed by Division of Health Care Services (HCS), Health Facilities Licensing & Certification (HFLC). The Department of Health (DOH) is in the process of promulgating regulations to implement the new law.

2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

COVID-19 Flexibilities Terminate Effective May 11, 2023
On February 11, 2023, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services announced that the COVID-19 public health emergency and all related flexibilities will expire on May 11, 2023. As a result, all remaining COVID-19 flexibilities will terminate effective May 11, 2023. Details are included in the following documents:

Visit Previous COVID News to view all notices issued during the COVID-19 public health emergency. 

Health Facilities Licensing and Certification is a unit within the Department of Health & Social Services, Division of Health Care Services. The units team is comprised of health facility surveyors (Registered Nurses), life safety surveyors (certified fire inspectors), and support staff.

This team inspects health facilities across the state to determine whether they meet state and federal standards. In addition, the team investigates complaints made against health facilities and agencies licensed or certified under our program. The purpose of the inspections is to determine a health care provider's ability to give services which are safe and of an acceptable quality.

Horizontal rule (ornamental) 

Important information:

Health Facilities Licensing and Certification Facilities List

** The current State licensing period for all facilities runs July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2024 unless otherwise noted for facilities currently on a provisional license.
Provider Updates:
If the information on our list for your facility is incorrect, please email the information to us at

Horizontal rule (ornamental) 

Program Areas

Our office is responsible to license and certify health facilities throughout the state of Alaska. We license and/or certify the following types of facilities: 

  • General Acute Care Hospitals (GACH)
  • Critical Access Hospitals (CAH)
  • Long Term Acute Care Hospitals (LTACH)
  • Specialty Hospitals (Psychiatric)
  • Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNF)
  • Ambulatory Surgery Centers (ASC)
  • Volunteer Hospice
  • Full Service Hospice 
  • Outpatient Physical Therapy Providers (OPT)
  • Rural Health Clinics (RHC)
  • Freestanding Birth Centers (FBC)
  • Home Health Agencies (HHA)
  • Frontier Extended Stay Clinics (FESC)
  • End Stage Renal Disease Facilities (ESRDS)
  • Federally Qualified Health Care Facilities (FQHC)
  • Subacute Mental Health Facilities

Certification takes part through an agreement with the Center for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) for those facilities who take part in the federal Medicare and Medicaid programs.