Sign In
Skip to content
Help us improve our website by providing your valuable feedback

2023 Inclusive Practice Award/Paraeducator of the Year Award

Inclusive Practice Award and Paraeducator of the Year 2023 Nomination Form PDF

The GCDSE is happy to partner again with the Alaska State Special Education Conference (ASSEC) to sponsor the Inclusive Practice and Paraeducator of the Year awards. This year’s awards breakfast will be on Tuesday, February 6th during the conference in Anchorage. Nominations may be for an individual or group.

For the last 19 years, the Inclusive Practice Award has honored outstanding educators who work to ensure students with disabilities have the opportunity for inclusive education with their peers as part of the general education curriculum and school community.  Whereas numerous educators deserve recognition for a multitude of reasons, the focus of this award is exclusively on exemplary inclusive practices. An additional award will be given specifically to a special education paraeducator that exemplifies best practices in supporting students in classrooms.

Nominees for the Inclusive Practice Award should be individuals or teams who are currently educators including (but not limited to) general education teachers, special education teachers, related service providers, administrators, or other personnel. Nominees for the Paraeducator of the Year Award should be those working predominantly with students who receive special education services. Award winners are selected based on demonstration of the following criteria:

  • Involving parents as equal partners in their child’s education
  • Promoting inclusive practices that allow students with disabilities to be included within the classroom, with peers and in the school community
  • Modifying curricula or providing support services that enables access to the general curriculum, classroom or school community.

Governor's Council on Disabilities and Special Education
550 West 7th Ave., Suite 1220 | Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-269-8462 | Fax: 907-269-8995
Email: | Webpage:
Join us on Facebook!


2022 Paraeducator of the Year: Amy Russell – West Homer Elementary, Kenai Peninsula Borough School District


Cody Burnham and Amy MacPherson, 2022 Inclusive Practice Awards, TEAM: Skagway School Special Education Team:

Cody Burnham, Amy MacPherson, Victoria Jacobson, Andrew Nadon, Peyton Rodig, Haley Whiteman, Benjamin Woolard, Peggy Hoff

2022 Inclusive Practice Award, INDIVIDUAL: Dana Blackwell — Floyd Dryden Middle School, Juneau School District

2021 Inclusive Practice Award Winner — Storme Fleming from the Anchorage School District

2021 Paraeducator Winner — Gregory Wood from the Dillingham City School District